Skip to main content

Louisiana

Fishing

Licenses & Fees

Following Licensing information valid only until May 31, 2022

(Licenses purchased prior to June 1, 2022 will only be valid until June 30, 2022)

Recreational Fishing Fees

Resident

Non-

Resident

Basic Fishing Season

$9.50

$60.00

Saltwater License

(Basic Fishing required)

$13.00

$30.00

Basic Fish Trip - 1 day


$5.00

Saltwater Trip - 1 day


$17.50

Hook and Line (cane pole)

$2.50


Charter Passenger License (3-day)1

$10.00

$10.00

Charter Skiff (3-day)2


$30.00

LA Sportsman's Paradise License3

$100.00


Senior Fish/Hunt4 (born between June 1, 1940 and May 31, 1962)

$5.00


Senior Fish/Hunt4 (born before June 1, 1940)

No License Required


Non-Resident Student Basic Fishing5


$9.50

NR Student Saltwater Fishing

(Basic Fishing required)5


$5.50

Resident Disabled Basic Fishing6

$2.50


Resident Disabled Saltwater6

$2.50


Offshore Landing Permit7

Free

Free

Military Recreational Fishing Fees


Resident

Non-Resident

Active Military Basic Fishing

$9.50

$9.50

Active Military Saltwater

$5.50

$5.50

Resident LA National Guard Fish/Hunt

$50.00


Resident/Native Retired Military Hunt/Fish

$5.00


Resident Surviving Spouse Killed in Action Fish

$2.50


Purple Heart Basic Fishing

$9.50

$9.50

Purple Heart Saltwater

$13.00

$13.00

Fishing Gear8

Crab Traps (limit 10)

$15.00

$60.00

Slat Traps (limit 5)

$20.00

$80.00

Trawls - up to 16 feet

$25.00

$100.00

Trawls - 16 feet to 25 feet

$80.00

$320.00

Oyster Tong (per tong)

$5.00

$20.00

Crawfish Traps (limit 35)

$15.00

$60.00

Pipes/Drums (limit 5)

$10.00

$40.00

Cans/Buckets (limit 5)

$10.00

$40.00

Wire Nets (limit 5)9

$20.00

$80.00

Hoop Nets (limit 5)9

$20.00

$80.00

1 Valid to fish from a charter vessel in saltwater areas of the state, with a licensed guide on board at all times.

2 Valid to fish under the direction of a charter operation in a licensed charter skiff in saltwater areas of the state.

3 Sportsman’s Paradise License: Includes Basic and Saltwater Fishing, Basic and Big Game Hunting, Bow, Primitive Firearms, Turkey, LA Duck and WMA Hunting Permit, and all recreational gear licenses (EXCEPT recreational trawls greater than 16 feet in length).

4 Senior Fish/Hunt License: Any resident who reached age 60 on June 1, 2000 or later must obtain a Senior Hunt/Fish License to hunt or fish. This license is in lieu of basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, primitive firearms, LA duck license, turkey stamp and WMA hunting permit. It does not include special gear such as trawls, crab traps, crawfish traps, hoop nets, etc.

5 NR Student: Applies to a nonresident who is enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited college, university or high school that has a physical campus in Louisiana. Verification of full-time status on the Department form available at www.wlf.la.gov/page/forms. Any person fishing under a “student license” must carry valid student ID card indicating current full time status while hunting or fishing.

6 LA Disabled Fishing and Saltwater: See License Information.

7 Recreational Offshore Landing Permit (ROLP): See License Information.

8 Purple Heart Recipient Fishing Gear Fees: Act 411 of the 2020 Regular Legislative session created gear licenses for Purple Heart recipients. Any person, whether a resident or non-resident, who has been awarded a Purple Heart shall be issued gear licenses at the resident rate.

9 Recreational wire and hoop nets shall be used only in the geographical areas of the state designated as freshwater (see General Information).

Lifetime Licenses

Lifetime License Fees

Lifetime Fishing (5-13 years old)

$200

Lifetime Fishing (14 years and older)

$300

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (0-4 years old)

$200

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (5-13 years old)

$300

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (14 years and older)

$500

NR Lifetime Hunt/Fish

$3,000

Lifetime Resident Senior Hunt/Fish

(60 or older)

$50

Lifetime Fishing Gear

10 times

annual fee per gear type

Lifetime fishing licenses include both freshwater and saltwater fishing.

Lifetime licenses are available from Baton Rouge office only. Allow three weeks processing time. Applicants are required to have lived in Louisiana for the immediate 6 months prior to making application to qualify for resident rates. Mandatory documents required for applicants age 18 and older are a valid LA driver’s license issued a minimum of 6 months and one of the following:

  1. Louisiana voter’s registration card
  2. Louisiana vehicle registration or
  3. Two previous year’s state tax filing, stamped by Department of Revenue and Taxation.

    (Applications available at www.wlf.la.gov/page/forms or by calling 225-765-2887)

    Mandatory paperwork for applicants age 17 and under is the following:

    • Original or certified copy of the birth certificate
    • Copy of both parents’ driver’s licenses

Following Licensing information valid From June 1, 2022 and After

(Licenses purchased on or after June 1, 2022 will be valid for one year from the day of purchase)

Recreational Fishing Fees (from June 1, 2022 and after)


Resident, Military, & Student 7

Non-Resident

Non-Resident Native 10-day

Non-Resident 5-day

Basic Fishing Season (includes all legal recreational freshwater gear)

$17.00

$68.00

$17.00

$30.00

Saltwater License (Basic Fishing required; includes all legal recreational saltwater gear)

$15.00

$60.00

$15.00

$30.00

Hook and Line1

$5.00


$5.00


Charter Passenger Saltwater License (3-day)2

$20.00

$20.00



Charter Passenger Freshwater License (3-day)

$10.00

$10.00



LA Sportsman’s Paradise License3

$100.00

$400.00

$100.00

$120.00

Senior Fish/Hunt4 (60 years and older)

$5.00




Disabled/Special Needs Hunting/Fish5

$4.00




Disabled Veterans5

No cost to customer



Offshore Landing Permit6

Free

1 Allows using a pole or hook and line without a reel and without artificial bait or any of the following: dip nets, landing nets, minnow traps, crab nets or crab lines

2 Valid to fish from a charter vessel in saltwater areas of the state, with a licensed guide on board at all times.

3 Sportsman’s Paradise License: Includes Basic and Saltwater Fishing, Basic and Big Game Hunting, Bow, Primitive Firearms, Turkey, LA Duck and WMA Hunting Permit, and all recreational gear licenses (EXCEPT recreational trawls greater than 16 feet in length).

4 Senior Fish/Hunt License: Any resident who reached age 60 on June 1, 2000 or later must obtain a Senior Hunt/Fish License to hunt or fish. This license is in lieu of basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, primitive firearms, LA duck license, turkey stamp and WMA hunting permit. It includes all gear.

5 Disabled/Special Needs and Disabled Veterans: See License Information.

6 Recreational Offshore Landing Permit (ROLP): See License Information.

7 Student: Applies to a nonresident who is enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited college, university or high school that has a physical campus in Louisiana. Verification of full-time status on the Department form available at www.wlf.la.gov/page/forms. Any person fishing under a “student license” must carry valid student ID card indicating current full time status while hunting or fishing.