Nov. 1 – Feb. 28
NOTE: In addition to this statewide trapping season, coyotes may be taken in counties, areas and times where fox-trapping is allowed by statute.
Nov. 1 – Mar. 31
Statewide for beaver only.
NOTE: Landowners whose property is or has been damaged or destroyed by beaver may take beaver on their property anytime by any lawful method without obtaining a permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission. The landowner may obtain assistance from other persons in taking the depredating beaver by giving those persons permission to take beaver on the landowner’s property.
Jan. 1 – Jan. 22
Fox trapping is allowed in Clay, Graham, Henderson, Macon and Tyrrell counties with a daily bag limit of two and a season bag limit of 10. Trappers must have fox tags prior to taking foxes, and the sale of live foxes under this season is prohibited. Visit County Fox Harvest Seasons Legislated by the North Carolina General Assembly (Maps, Laws and Dates) to see if there is a local fox trapping season in your county.
During the regulated trapping season, it is legal in North Carolina to trap:
Gray and red foxes may only be trapped where provided by state or local law. For more information about fox trapping seasons, visit ncwildlife.org/FoxSeasons. Coyotes may be trapped during the statewide regular trapping season and during any fox-trapping season, established by statute or by local law, using methods described in statute, even when those seasons open prior to and extend after the regular trapping seasons.
Statewide Trapping Restrictions
It is unlawful to:
- Sell or otherwise transfer ownership of the carcass or pelt of a fox*, bobcat or otter without first tagging it with the appropriate tag available from the Wildlife Resources Commission. Bobcat and otter tags are free of charge and $2.25 for fox*. Up to 50 bobcat tags and 150 otter tags may be issued per request. You may purchase these tags by telephone, 888-248-6834, using a Visa or MasterCard credit card, or you can mail your request along with the fee to: NCWRC, Bobcat/Otter/Fox Tags, 1707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Include your name, address, date of birth and WRC number. *except where local laws do not require fox tagging.
- Open or damage a beaver lodge without a permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission.
- Sell, keep or transfer ownership of any live animals, except foxes or coyotes, which can be sold live by licensed trappers to licensed fox preserves during the applicable trapping season for that species. Live-trapped foxes and coyotes shall not be held for more than 30 days after capture and shall be provided drinking water, food of a type and quantity appropriate for the species, and shelter that protects the foxes and coyotes from direct sunlight and precipitation. Licensed trappers and any individual(s) transporting live foxes and coyotes for live sale shall have a current and valid transportation permit prior to taking possession of the live foxes and coyotes, including removing the animal from the trap. Licensed trappers shall keep accurate written records, on a form provided by the Commission for each fox or coyote sold or transferred to a licensed fox preserve
- Take red and gray fox except where provided by state or local law. For more information on fox trapping seasons, visit ncwildlife.org/FoxSeasons.
- Take wild animals by trapping upon the land of another without having in possession written permission issued and dated within the previous year by the landowner or his agent. This restriction does not apply to public lands on which trapping is not specifically prohibited including tidelands, marshlands, and any other untitled land.
- Remove or disturb any lawfully set trap or remove any furbearing animal from a trap without permission of the trap owner.
Statewide Trap Regulations
- All traps must have a weather-resistant permanent tag attached with either the trapper’s name and address or the trapper’s Trapper Identification Number (TIN) and the Commission’s phone number (800-662-7137). The TIN can be found on your trapping license.
- If a trap is placed on the property of another and identified by the TIN, the Commission is required to disclose the identity of the trapper to the landowner upon request.
- Unlawful to set or use a trap so that animals or birds will be suspended when caught.
- Unlawful to set or use a hook of any sort or type to take wild animals or wild birds.
Legal Trap Types
- Box/cage traps and colony traps
- Conibear™-type traps
- Foothold trap
- Snares (for beaver only)
Conibear ™–type Traps
- Must be smooth-edged and without teeth or spikes.
- Jaw Spread:
- To measure the width and height of a Conibear™-type trap, measure from inside jaw to inside jaw (Figure 1).
- On dry land, cannot have a jaw spread greater than 7 ½ inches.
- If totally covered by water, it can have an inside jaw spread (width or height) greater than 7 ½ inches and no larger than 26 inches in width and 12 inches in height.
- In areas of tidal waters, the mean high water is considered covering water.
- In reservoir areas, covering water is the low water level prevailing during the preceding 24 hours.
- Trap can be checked every 72 hours if completely submerged.
- In addition, if trapping for beaver, Conibear™-type traps can be set one-half covered by water, but must be checked daily.
- Must be smooth edged and without teeth or spikes.
- Jaw Spread:
- To measure jaw spread of a foot-hold trap, measure from inside jaw to inside jaw (Figure 2).
- Cannot have a jaw spread greater than 7 ½ inches.
- If the jaw spread is between 5 ½ and 7 ½ inches, the jaws must be offset by 3/16th of an inch.
- The jaws do not have to be offset if the trap is set in water with a quick-drown type set.
- Chain length:
- Trap chain cannot be longer than 8 inches from anchor point to the base of the trap unless fitted with a shock-absorbing device with at least 40 lbs. and not more than 75 lbs. of pull.
- Trap chain can be measured from anchor point (solid ground) to the base of the trap.
- Can be used to trap only beaver, except where allowed by local law.
- Cannot be used to trap wildlife, except where allowed by local law.
You should also read the “Game Lands” and “Local Laws” sections for trapping restrictions on certain game lands and in certain counties.
Every trap must be visited daily and any animal caught therein removed, except for completely submerged Conibear™-type traps, which must be visited at least once every 72 hours and any animal caught therein removed.
Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of visiting the trap, provided the system has the following features:
- a control unit that monitors the trap in real-time and reports trap status and unit status to a centralized application database at least once every 12 hours;
- a software application that notifies the user of unit status, trap activity, and system health issues within 10 minutes of these events via text-based messaging systems, or an in-application notification; and
- on-demand test procedure that is used at each deployment of a unit to confirm that the unit is placed in a location where its wireless communication can be received and processed.
If the remote trap checking system control unit reports a trap closure, the trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the time the trap was reported closed. If a remote trap checking system control unit fails to report its status after a 12 hour period, or reports a system health issue, the trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the last time a status report was sent. Remote trap checking system users shall maintain records of trap status and notification alarms for a period of no less than seven days after receipt. Records shall be made available for inspection upon request by a representative of the Commission.
Unlawful Harassment of Persons Taking Wildlife Resources
In North Carolina, it is unlawful for a person to interfere intentionally with the lawful taking of wildlife resources or to drive, harass, or intentionally disturb any wildlife resources for the purpose of disrupting the lawful taking of wildlife resources on public or private property. NOTE: This law does not apply to activity by a person on land he or she owns or leases or to a person who incidentally interferes with the taking of wildlife resources while using the land for other lawful activity such as agriculture, mining or recreation.
Violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor punishable for a first conviction by a fine not to exceed $1,000, by imprisonment not to exceed 30 days, or by both and punishable for a second or subsequent conviction by a fine left to the discretion of the court (NCGS §113-295).
What Should I Do?
If you experience unlawful harassment, immediately notify your nearest wildlife enforcement officer, county sheriff’s office or local police department. Advise the authorities of this law and that you wish to hunt peacefully.
What Not to Do
Do not provoke a fight, threaten reprisals or use profanity. Remember that some anti-hunting activists seek confrontation and may be accompanied by the news media.