Skip to main content
North Carolina

Fishing

Fishing

You are viewing 2023's Fishing Licenses. Click to here to view information for 2024

Fishing Licenses

Purchase your license online at gooutdoorsnorthcarolina.com

Fishing Licenses

Note: Individuals 16 years of age or older using any type of bait or gear to catch finfish while fishing in North Caro­lina’s public waters must possess a valid North Carolina fishing license. This license requirement does not apply to private ponds.

License Type

Resident

Nonresident

Short-Term Licenses

Short-term licenses are valid for the period specified on the license.

Inland Fishing­ 10-Day: Statewide inland fishing during the 10-day period specified on the license. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.

$9

$23

Coastal Recreational Fishing 10-Day: Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters during the 10-day period specified on the license. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

$6

$11

Annual Licenses

Unless otherwise specified, annual licenses are valid for 12 months from the date of purchase.

State Inland Fishing: Statewide inland fishing during a license term. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.

$25

$45

Coastal Recreational Fishing: Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters during a license term. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

$16

$32

Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing: Statewide inland and coastal recreational fishing for residents during a license term. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters.

$41

N/A

Subsistence Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License Waiver: Statewide inland and coastal recreational fishing for residents who receive Medicaid, Food Stamps, or Work First Family Assistance through the county Department of Social Services. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands and fishing in joint waters. License Waiver must be obtained through the county Department of Social Services.

FREE

N/A

Special Device (inland fishing): Authorizes the taking of nongame fishes from inland waters (does not include joint and coastal waters) during designated seasons with seines, cast nets, gill nets, dip nets, bow nets, reels, gigs, spear guns, baskets, fish pots, eel pots, traps, and hand-crank electrofishers where authorized by local law. Includes the sale of these nongame fishes. Taking of nongame fishes with archery equipment is authorized under any of the licenses providing hunting or inland fishing privileges. Certain special devices may be used to take nongame fishes for personal use (bait or personal consumption) using any valid license that provides inland fishing privileges. Refer to Inland Fishing Regulations for more information.

$80

$530

Lifetime License

Comprehensive Inland Fishing: Statewide inland fishing. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.

$265

N/A

Senior (see Fishing Licenses for eligibility requirements)

$16

N/A

Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing: Statewide inland and coastal recreational fishing. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters.

$477

N/A

Coastal Recreational Fishing: Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

Adult (ages 12 & older)

$265

$530

Youth (ages 1–11)

$159

$159

Infant (under age 1)

$106

$106

Senior (see Hunting & Trapping Licenses for eligibility requirements)

$16

N/A

Disabled Veteran Inland Fishing: Statewide inland fishing. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.

$11

N/A

Disabled Veteran Coastal Recreational Fishing: Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

$11

N/A

Totally Disabled Inland Fishing: Statewide inland fishing. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.

$11

N/A

Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational Fishing: Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

$11

N/A

Legally Blind Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing: Statewide fishing in all public waters for residents who have been certified by the Department of Health and Human Services as being legally blind. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters and fishing in trout waters on game lands.

FREE

N/A

Adult Care Home Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing: Statewide fishing in all public waters for residents of an adult care home. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters and fishing in trout waters on game lands. License valid during time of residency at adult care facility.

FREE

N/A

Ad for Upgrading Your License to a Collector's Hard Card