Fall Turkey Hunting Seasons
|Season Dates Status
|Fall - Regular
|All Open Units
Valid in paper or electronic format and must immediately be shown to a game warden or other law enforcement officer upon request.
Youth - First-time spring turkey hunters ages 15 or younger may receive one spring license valid for any open unit.
Regular - Regular licenses are issued by weighted lottery after the number of gratis licenses to be issued is deducted from the total available.
Gratis - Gratis licenses are available to North Dakota residents who own, or lease for agricultural purposes and actively farm or ranch, at least 150 acres of land located in an open hunting unit. Gratis licenses are valid only upon land described on the application.
Other Licenses Required - Hunters, regardless of age, must also possess a 2024-25 fishing, hunting and furbearer certificate ($1) and a general game and habitat license ($20). In addition, hunters age 16 and older must possess a 2024-25 small game license ($10) or a combination license ($50) before hunting wild turkeys (gratis license holders exempt).
Hunting by Nontribal Members on North Dakota Indian Reservations - If an individual hunts exclusively on Indian lands within an Indian reservation, a tribal license is required and a state hunting license is not required. Hunting on nontribal lands within an Indian reservation requires a state hunting license. Game taken legally with a tribal license within an Indian reservation may be possessed and transported anywhere in North Dakota.