General Statewide Regulations
Nevada Freshwater Fishing
All persons fishing are subject to the license requirements listed below. Except for some “interstate waters” (Lake Tahoe, Topaz Lake, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Colorado River), anglers 12 years of age and older are required to obtain and possess a license or permit to fish. Nonresident anglers under 12 years of age are not required to have a license, but the number of fish taken by such nonresident anglers must not exceed 50 percent of the limit as provided by law. (For instance, if the limit is five, these young anglers may take only two fish.) Fishing license and permit requirements also apply to persons taking fish by means of spear or bow and arrow.
Any person who takes (catches) or possesses trout must carry on his person:
- A state Trout Stamp affixed to his fishing license and validated by his signature in ink across the face of the stamp, or
- A Trout Stamp privilege as provided on an internet or point-of-sale license.
Exceptions: While fishing in Nevada, youth under the age of 12, any persons fishing under the authority of a “Take Me Fishing” 1-Day Group Fishing Permit, or a valid short-term fishing permit or during a consecutive day validly added to that permit are not required to obtain a Trout Stamp. A Trout Stamp is not required to fish on Free Fishing Day (NRS 502.326).
Second Rod Stamp
A person may fish with a second combination of hook, line and rod, if he has a “Second Rod Stamp” which allows the person to use a second combination of hook, line and rod or a “Second Rod” privilege as provided on an internet or point-of-sale license. A person, regardless of age, must first obtain a valid fishing license or short-term fishing permit before he can use a Second Rod Stamp. No person may use more than two combinations of hook, line and rod at any time (NAC 502.297).
“Limit” means the maximum number of game fish that may be lawfully taken and reduced to possession by a person. The “Limit” includes fish caught in Nevada which have been processed or preserved and are stored at any location. Fish that are caught and immediately released back to the water alive are not considered to be reduced to possession or part of the limit. Limits for individual counties are specified under each Region’s General Regulations. Limits for waters, which have special limits or restrictions, are listed under each Region’s Special Regulations.
Possession Limit vs. Daily Limit
In this state, there is no distinction between a “daily” limit and a “possession” limit. There is simply a “limit.” An angler may not have more than one limit in possession. For example, if an angler fishes one body of water where the limit is four trout and takes his limit, he may not then move to a body of water where the limit is two trout and keep any more fish.
Unless otherwise noted under Region General Regulations or Region Special Regulations, there is no size limit. Where size limits do apply, this shall mean the total length of the fish including the head and tail, measured as illustrated in the diagram.
Seasons and Hours
Unless otherwise noted under Region Special Regulations, the season is open year around and fishing hours are any time of the day or night. Where specified, “open season” includes the first and last day designated.
“Fishes,” “fishing,” “fished” and “to fish” defined
The words “to fish” and their derivatives, “fishes,” “fishing” and “fished,” mean catching, taking, capturing, killing, injuring or crippling of a fish or game amphibian, and every attempt to do so.
Where size limits apply, fish may be filleted before transport if the remainder of the carcass of each fish filleted is kept in one piece so size and possession limits can be immediately determined. It is unlawful for any person to cause through carelessness, neglect or otherwise any edible portion of any game fish to go to waste needlessly. In the case of game fish, (1) the fillet meat from the operculum (gill plate) to the caudal fin (tail fin).
Methods of Fishing
Except as noted under “Spearfishing” and “Unprotected Fish,” fish may be taken only with hook and line attached to rod or reel and closely attended in the manner known as angling. Unless a person has a valid second rod stamp, only one combination of hooks, line and rod may be used at any one time. No more than three baited hooks, nor more than three fly hooks, or two lures or plugs irrespective of the number of hooks or attractor blades attached thereto, may be attached to the line. Some waters have further restrictions.
Persons may spearfish for unprotected fish in all Nevada waters except Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake. Persons may spearfish for striped bass in Lake Mead and Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to the cable below Hoover Dam. Spearfishing for striped bass is prohibited in that portion of Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis Dam and from Davis Dam down river to the Nevada state line. In Lakes Mead and Mohave and the Colorado River system, spearfishing is prohibited within 1/2 mile of any dock or swimming area. When spearfishing, a person must display, within 100 feet, an appropriate diver’s flag. A mechanical spearing device may be used only under the surface of the water, and the spear must be attached to the device by a lanyard. Fishing license regulations apply to persons taking fish by means of spear or bow and arrow.
Using Fish for Bait
Game fish and protected species of fish may not be used as bait.
“Chumming” means placing fish, parts of fish or other material upon which fish feed, in the water for the purpose of attracting fish to a particular area so that they may be taken. Chumming is prohibited in Lake Tahoe, Topaz Lake, Spooner Lake and the entire Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.
For the purposes of ice fishing, holes cut through the ice must not exceed 10 inches in diameter.
Unprotected fish are all species not classified as game or protected. Unprotected fish may be taken by bow and arrow, hook and line, dipnet, cast net, minnow seine or minnow trap, and, except where prohibited, by spear. In the Colorado River and Lakes Mead and Mohave, the taking of fish by bow and arrow is prohibited within 1/2 mile of any dock or swimming area.
“Artificial Lures” means any device with a hook or hooks attached which is made partly or entirely of rubber, wood, metal, glass, plastic or feathers. (Please note: PowerBait ® or similar products are not considered artificial lures.)
Artificial Lures with Single Barbless Hooks
A “single barbless hook” means a fish hook having one point, manufactured without barbs or on which the barbs have been bent completely closed or filed off. Double or treble hooks having a common shank are not a single barbless hook even when the barbs are closed or filed off. When single barbless hooks are required, only one single barbless hook may be attached to each hook eye or ring of the lure.
- The Collection Ditch at Ruby Lake NWR in Elko County.
- Dacey Reservoir on the Kirch WMA in Nye County.
- Hinkson Slough on the Mason Valley WMA in Lyon County
- Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka County.
Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks may be used in these waters:
- Knott Creek Reservoir including inlet and outlet streams in Humboldt County.
- Hobart Reservoir (Washoe County), its tributaries and Franktown Creek downstream to Red House.
- Catnip Reservoir in Washoe County.
- South Fork of the Humboldt River (Elko County) from the access causeway for the Lucky Nugget subdivision upstream to Lee.
- East Walker River (Lyon County) from 1/4 mile above the confluence of the East Walker River and Sweetwater Creek downstream to 1/2 mile below the confluence of the East Walker River and Red Wash Creek.
- Marlette Lake including tributaries and outlet stream in Washoe County.
- Smith Creek Reservoir in Lander County.
- Truckee River (Washoe and Storey County) from February 1 through May 31, in that portion 1,000 feet downstream of Derby Dam downstream to the Pyramid Lake Paiute Reservation boundary.
Northern pike are not classified as game fish; they are a prohibited species. Anglers wishing to keep northern pike to eat are required to kill them upon capture. There is no limit for northern pike, and anglers who wish to assist in the removal of northern pike from the waters of the state and who wish to dispose of them may do so without regard for Nevada’s wanton waste laws. The importation, transportation or possession of live northern pike is prohibited (NAC 503.110).
Game fish taken under the authority of a fishing license or fishing permit may not be transported alive from the body of water where the game fish is taken. It is not illegal to keep game fish alive and in a live well, net or on a stringer while at the body of water from which they are caught. Anglers must kill fish to be transported away from the body of water. Under no circumstances can game fish be transported in a manner which would allow for their release alive at another body of water. The transport and release of live wildlife without a permit is illegal.
There is no license requirement or limit on bullfrogs if they are taken by gig, spear, bow and arrow or by hand. However, a license is required to take bullfrogs by hook and line. Season is open year around anytime of the day or night in waters that are open to fishing or frogging. Bullfrogs may not be transported alive from the body of water where taken.
A fishing license is not required to capture crayfish for personal consumption or use as bait. When used as bait crayfish may only be used in the water where captured and other bait restrictions apply. There is no limit on crayfish. A license is required to take crayfish by hook and line. A permit is required to take crayfish for commercial purposes at Lake Tahoe (crayfish may not be taken for commercial purposes from any other Nevada water.)
Coldwater game fish are: Bonneville cutthroat trout, Lahontan cutthroat trout, Snake River (Yellowstone) cutthroat trout, Kokanee salmon, brook trout, brown trout, bull trout, lake trout, rainbow trout, redband trout, mountain whitefish and any hybrid thereof.
Warmwater Game Fish
Warmwater game fish are: black bullhead, brown bullhead, channel catfish, white catfish, striped bass, white bass, largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, spotted bass, black crappie, white crappie, yellow perch, Sacramento perch, bluegill sunfish, pumpkinseed sunfish, green sunfish, redear sunfish, walleye and any hybrid thereof.
Protected Fish and Amphibians
Protected fish and amphibians are those species listed in NAC 503.065, 503.075 and 503.067. There is no open season on fish or amphibians classified as protected.
The Capture, Transport and Use of Bait
Any person possessing a fishing license or permit, or otherwise exempted from such licenses, may capture, transport and use bait for fishing or personal consumption except that the use of game fish or protected species of fish for bait is prohibited. Aquatic bait (such as live unprotected amphibians, crayfish, clams and snails) may be used only in the water from which it is taken. Aquatic bait and live bait fish (live unprotected species of freshwater fish) may be transported from one river basin to another or from one area of this state to another only as provided in the appropriate regional regulation as noted below. Any bait obtained from a licensed dealer of live bait fish must be accompanied by a currently dated receipt issued by that dealer.
NOTE: Artificial lure-only waters are listed.