Licenses & Fees
License by age
Age: Up to 9
Junior 1 age:
Resident senior age: 65+
Mentored youth license
Base license*3 (valid as small game license; see page 66). Valid through March 31, 2024.
Pheasant hunting license4
Small game 3-day nonresident license
Small game 7-day nonresident license
Hunt/fish combo license* (includes: base license, deer combo and all- species fish license)
Deer license (one kill tag)
Deer combo license (two kill tags)
Universal antlerless deer license**
*One dollar from each of these licenses will be used to educate the public on the benefits of hunting, fishing and trapping in Michigan and theimpact of these activities on the conservation, preservation and management of the state’s natural resources.
**Antlerless deer licenses are discounted in DMU 487.
- For complete information on youth hunting, see pages 36-40.
- Nonresidents under 17 years of age may purchase resident licenses.
- The 2024 base license is available for purchase beginning March 1, 2024.
- A pheasant hunting license is required for pheasant hunters 18 years old and older hunting on public lands; see page 67 for exceptions and additional information.
- For Information on hunting Furbearing animals such as Bobcat, see the current Fur Harvester regulations summary booklet.
When can I apply for a limited-license hunt?
Bear and elk
May 1 – June 1
Fall wild turkey
July 1 – Aug. 1
Pure Michigan Hunt
Jan. 1– Dec. 31
Spring wild turkey
Jan. 1 – Feb. 1
When can I apply for a limited-hunt access permit?
Antlerless deer hunting access permit (mid-U.P. only; see page 60)
July 15 – Aug. 15
July 15 – Aug. 15
How do I apply for the Pure Michigan Hunt?
You must be at least 10 years old and eligible to purchase regular (nonapprentice) hunting licenses. Eligible hunters may purchase as many Pure Michigan Hunt applications as they wish until Dec. 31, 2023. Applications can be purchased online or whereverDNR licenses are sold. Applications cost $5 each.
When will the 2024 Pure Michigan Hunt winners be announced?
Three lucky hunters will be drawn in January 2024, and the winners will be announced via Facebook video broadcast, withfinal confirmation by phone. Drawing results are posted the week following the video announcement.
Will the Pure Michigan Hunt affect my bear points or elk chances?
No, purchase of Pure Michigan Hunt licenses will not affect your eligibility to apply for or purchase other hunting licenses and will notaffect bear preference points or weighted elk chances you have earned. Individuals who have received an elk license through aprior elk drawing are eligible to apply for the PMH.
Purchasing a license
You must have one of the following forms of identification:
- Valid Michigan driver’s license or valid nonresident driver’s license.
- State of Michigan ID card (issued by the Secretary of State).
- DNR Sportcard (issued through license agents, at Michigan.gov/DNRLicenses or on the DNR Hunt Fish app). If the informationon your DNR Sportcard from a previous year is still accurate, you should continue to use it.
Hunters must possess qualifying credentials and/or identification that may be required for certain license purchases. Whenhunting or trapping, you must carry your license and present it upon demand of a Michigan conservation officer, a tribalconservation officer or any law enforcement officer.
Where can I purchase Michigan hunting licenses?
You can purchase Michigan hunting and fishing licenses online at Michigan.gov/DNRLicenses, through the Michigan DNR HuntFish app or in person at any agent that sells Michigan licenses. A list of license agents is available at Michigan.gov/DNRLicenseAgents. The Michigan DNR Hunt Fish app is available for download on the Google Play Store or theApple App Store.
Do I need a base license?
Yes. All hunters are required to have a base license before purchasing other licenses. (A base license is not required to purchasea fishing license or limited- license hunt applications. A base license is not required to buy a nonresident small game three-day or seven-day license.)
What is the base license?
The base license provides funding for habitat and conservation work on both public and private land and supports the work ofconservation officers and field staff to ensure safe, legal hunting practices are followed. The base license is valid for hunting smallgame. Additional licenses are required to hunt other species.
Hunters are always encouraged to carry their base license when hunting.
What is a kill tag?
Kill tags are licenses that are affixed to the following harvested animals: deer, turkey, bear, otter, fisher, marten and bobcat. You cannotharvest these animals without the physical kill tag in your possession. Information on the harvest must be recorded on kill tag asindicated on tag, like date of harvest, sex of animal, antler points, etc. See page 32 for more information on tagging.
Do I need to take hunter safety?
Yes. All hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1960, must present their hunter safety certificate or previous hunting license (other than an apprentice license) to purchase their licenses.
TO PURCHASE A LICENSE
Michigan’s hunter education courses are offered year-round throughout the state. The online course and additionalinformation can be found at Michigan.gov/HunterEducation.
I cannot find my hunter safety certificate; can I get a replacement?
For a replacement Michigan hunter safety certificate, visit Michigan.gov/RecreationalSafety.
I do not have a hunter safety certificate but would like to try hunting before I take the course. How can I do that?
If you do not have a hunter safety certificate and are 10 years old or older, you may purchase a base apprentice license. Anapprentice hunter may purchase this license for two license years before he or she must successfully complete a hunter safetycourse. Additional licenses are required to hunt big game and waterfowl. The base apprentice license is available to both residents and nonresidents.
When afield, an apprentice hunter must be accompanied by someone 21 years old or older who has a regular, current-year huntinglicense for the same game as the apprentice. For apprentices 10-16 years of age, the accompanying hunter must be theapprentice’s parent, guardian or someone designated by the parent or guardian. “Accompanied by” requires the accompanyinghunter to be able to come to the immediate aid of the apprentice and stay within a distance that permits uninterrupted, unaided visual and verbal contact. A person may accompany no more than two apprentice hunters while hunting. Apprentice huntersare exempt from antler point restrictions during all deer seasons, in all regions and for all deer licenses.
If I own land in Michigan but live in a different state, can I buy resident hunting licenses?
No. The ownership of land in Michigan by itself is not a qualification for a resident license.
Who qualifies for a Michigan resident hunting license?
To qualify for any adult resident hunting or fur harvester license, you must meet one of the following criteria:
- Reside in a settled or permanent home or domicile within the boundaries of this state with the intention of remaining in this state.The ownership of land in Michigan by itself is not a qualification for a resident license. “Resident” status can only be claimed inone state.
- Be a full-time student at a Michigan college or university and reside in the state during the school year.
- Serve full-time in the U.S. military and be officially stationed in Michigan.
- Serve full-time in the U.S. military and maintain residency in Michigan.
I am in the military; do I get a discount?
Yes, hunting license fees are waived for full-time, federal, active-duty U.S. military personnel who have maintained Michiganresident status, except for hunting licenses obtained through a drawing. You must present military ID, leave papers, duty papers, military orders or other evidenceverifying that you are an active- duty member of the military, along with a valid Michigan driver’s license or voter registration card.
I am a veteran with a disability; do I get a discount?
Michigan resident veterans with a disability are eligible to obtain any hunting license that does not require a separate applicationfree of charge, if one of the following conditions is met:
- You have been determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs to be permanently and totally disabled as aresult of military service and entitled to veterans’ benefits at the 100% rate, for disabilities other than blindness.
- You have been rated by United States Department of Veterans Affairs as individually unemployable.
Documentation of eligibility from the Veterans Administration stating either of the above conditions should be in thepossession of a veteran when obtaining free licenses and while afield.
Can I use someone else’s hunting license?
No. It is unlawful to use another person’s hunting license or kill tag.
Do I need a hunting license to target practice?
No. You do not need a license when target practicing or sighting in a firearm at an identifiable, artificially constructed target and when there is no attempt to take game.
I lost my license; can I get another one?
If you originally purchased your hunting or fishing license at a license agent or online, you may visit a license agent and have yourlicense(s) reprinted ($3 for non- kill tag replacement and full price for kill tag replacement). You must provide the identificationnumber used to purchase the original license.
If you originally purchased your hunting or fishing license online, you received an email containing a PDF file of printable licenses (non-kill tag(s)), including your base license. Save your PDF so it can be reprinted if misplaced. If you have an eLicenseaccount, you may log in at Michigan.gov/DNRLicenses to reprint your non- kill tag items. Access your purchase history to reprint current licenses. Call 517- 284-6057 for licensing assistance.
What is the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact?
Michigan is a member of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact, an agreement where participating states share information about fish and game violators and honor each other’s decision to deny licenses and permits. If your hunting, fishing or trapping license is revoked in Michigan, you may lose your privileges in the other 45 participating states as well. And, if your license is revoked in any of those states, it also may be revoked in Michigan.