General License Regulations
How to Purchase a Hunting or Trapping License
1. Online …
Go to IndianaOutdoor.IN.gov
2. In Person …
Visit one of the over 800 retailers statewide at IndianaOutdoor.IN.gov or visit the DNR Customer Service Center. Hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
3. By Mail …
Send a check or money order (payable to DNR) or Visa or MasterCard (include number, expiration date) to:
DNR Customer Service Center
402 W. Washington St., W160
Indianapolis, IN, 46204
Allow 2-3 weeks for delivery. Include the following information:
4. By Phone …
Call (317) 232-4200
Nonresidents must purchase a nonresident shooting preserve license and any applicable stamp privilege requirements for species they are hunting at a private shooting preserve. The nonresident private shooting preserve license expires April 30, immediately following the date the license is effective. The nonresident shooting preserve license is $17 and the nonresident youth shooting preserve license is $7.
Persons with Disabilities
Individuals with a disability that prevents them from being able to hunt wild animals under regular hunting regulations may request a special permit from the DNR.
For rules or application forms, contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife, 402 W. Washington St., W273, Indianapolis, IN 46204; (317) 232-4102 or at hunting.IN.gov.
Individuals with certain permanent developmental disabilities as defined in state law may apply for a conditional hunter education card. The individual must first take the hunter education class. Call DNR Law Enforcement at (317) 232-4011 for more information.
A disability is defined as a physical impairment resulting from injury or disease, excluding impairment due to the normal aging process.
Special permits may allow those who cannot walk or have serious walking limitations to hunt from a vehicle or gain special vehicle access on public property.
Anyone born after Dec. 31, 1986 must successfully complete a DNR-offered hunter education class to purchase a hunting license. See apprentice license exception. Hunters certified in another state or Canada can also present a card or certificate and purchase an Indiana hunting license.
The DNR offers hunter education courses in counties throughout the state. The program takes approximately 10 hours to complete. For information on classes in your area, see dnr.IN.gov/lawenfor or contact the nearest hunter education office:
A resident or nonresident can buy an apprentice hunting license without having to take a hunter education class. An individual can purchase up to three apprentice hunting licenses, of any combination, in his/her lifetime before needing to take a DNR-offered hunter education class.
While hunting, the apprentice hunter at all times must be in close proximity to and able to communicate with a hunter who is at least 18 years old and has a valid hunting license (unless exempt from needing a hunting license). The individual who accompanies the apprentice hunter cannot accompany more than two apprentice hunters at one time while afield.
The apprentice resident youth hunt/trap license includes the same licenses and stamps as the regular resident youth hunt/trap license; it only exempts the license holder from needing to take a hunter education class.
Landowners or lessees of farmland and their children living with them who meet the requirements for license exemptions listed above also are exempt from needing an apprentice hunting license.
Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.