Environmental Conservation Police
What to Do When Approached By an Environmental Conservation Police Officer
Each year, Connecticut Environmental Conservation (EnCon) Police Officers check thousands of hunters, anglers, boaters, and visitors at our state parks and forests. A compliance check by an EnCon Police Officer is an opportunity for outdoor enthusiasts to have positive interactions with officers while enjoying all the outdoor recreation opportunities Connecticut has to offer. EnCon Police Officers can help explain laws and also provide information about outdoor opportunities and conditions in your area. Take advantage of the opportunity to ask the officer questions. They can assist in making your outdoor experience in Connecticut more enjoyable.
EnCon Police Officers are concerned with enforcement of Connecticut laws and regulations that are intended to keep people safe, protect personal property, and conserve the State’s natural resources. There are a few actions that you can take to ensure your experience with an EnCon Officer is positive for both you and the officer.
While Fishing and Boating:
EnCon Officers are concerned with boating safety and compliance with fishing regulations when checking anglers. When approached by an officer in a patrol boat you should:
- Maintain your current speed and direction unless signaled to do otherwise or if the patrol boat is displaying flashing blue lights or using a siren, which are signals for you to stop.
- Do not change direction or stop your vessel unless signaled to do so. This will help avoid contact between the vessels that could cause damage or injuries.
- Reel in all fishing lines on the side of the boat that is being approached by the officer. Use care to keep body parts and rod tips out of the space between the boats to prevent injury or damage to equipment.
- If you are operating downriggers, trolling, or operating a bow mounted electric motor, maintain your current speed and direction unless signaled to do otherwise or if the patrol boat is displaying flashing blue lights indicating that you must stop.
We also highly encourage the wearing of personal flotation devices when fishing from a vessel. It is mandatory to wear a PFD by anyone in a manually propelled vessel from October 1 through May 31 and for all children under 13 years old on a vessel that is under way. There are many options now that are comfortable and do not interfere with your fishing enjoyment so please put one on. It can save your life!
We encourage the citizens of our State to assist us with our mission of protecting the State’s natural resources by taking an active role in reporting fishing and game violations to our 24 hour toll free number at 1-800-842-4357.
Thank you and good luck!
Colonel Kyle Overturf
Director, State Environmental Conservation Police