Skip to main content



Turkey Seasons & Bag Limits

Fall Turkey

Open in all counties, except Bledsoe, Bradley, Crockett, Dyer, Giles, Haywood, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Loudon, McMinn, Monroe, Polk, Shelby, Tipton, Unicoi, and Wayne counties are closed.

During the fall turkey season, a turkey hunter may not be in possession of both archery equipment and shotguns and/or rifles. Any turkey harvested during the fall season counts toward the county bag limit of one (1). Hunters may hunt in any county they have not filled their fall bag limit.


Sept. 23–Oct. 27 and Oct. 30–Nov. 3, 2023 (same as deer archery-only season)


Oct. 14–27, 2023

Fall Turkey Bag Limit

One (1) bearded turkey per county.

Spring Turkey

All counties are open to spring turkey seasons, however there are some exceptions on public land (see WMA section for details).


Young Sportsman1: April 6–7, 2024

Shotgun/Archery: April 13–May 26, 2024

Spring Turkey Bag Limit

One (1) bearded turkey per day, not to exceed two (2) per season, only one can be a jake. An adult gobbler is defined by having one of the following: wing feathers have white barring all the way to the tip, tail feathers are the same length, beard is longer than 6 inches, or a spur is at least 1/2 inch long.

1 Any turkey harvested during the Young Sports-man Hunt counts toward the statewide spring season limit of two (2).