Skip to main content

Tennessee

Fishing

License Fees

Buy your license online at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com

Resident Licenses

Resident licenses can be purchased by:
  • Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license or Tennessee state ID issued by the Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee drivers license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state driver's license only accepted for Military Personnel and Students meeting the criteria below.
  • Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver's license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:
    • current Tennessee voter registration card;
    • current Tennessee vehicle registration or title;
    • Form I-94 issued by the U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Service
    • current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year
  • Military personnel on active duty in this state and children under 16 years of age who reside with them, regardless of Tennessee resident status.
  • Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college or university for at least six months, with an appropriate student ID.
  • Nonresidents that were born in the State of Tennessee, upon completion of an application for a Native Tennessean license. See License Information for details.
NOTE: A Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license. Ages 12 and under no license is required, some permits may still apply.

License

Fee

Annual Hunting and Fishing Combination (Type 001) ages 16–64 $34
Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game.
Junior Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 002) ages 13–15 $10
Good for hunting all game, fishing and trapping. Must be purchased prior to 16th birthday. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season and WMA big game permits will need to be purchased in addition to this license. Fees apply when applying for quota hunt permits as well as “left over” permits.
One-Day Fishing (Type 021) no trout; ages 13–64 $6.50
One-Day Fishing All Fish ( Type 023) includes trout; ages 16–64 $11.50
Annual Trout (Type 022) ages 16–64 $22
Type 022 is a supplemental license required to fish for trout in addition to Type 001, 020, or 021.
Annual Sportsman (Type 004) ages 16–64 $166
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any TWRA supplemental licenses or non-quota permits; allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Annual Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
Annual Hunt/Fish Disabled Under Age 18 (Type 168) $5
Available by application only.
County of Residence Fishing (Type 020) ages 13 and over $11
This license allows an angler to fish in his/her county of residence with natural bait (worms, crickets, cut bait, corn, etc.), but not minnows. No artificial baits can be used. A supplemental license (Type 022) is required to fish for trout.
South Holston Reservoir (Type 063) ages 13 and over $21
This additional license allows licensed TN resident anglers to fish the VA portion of South Holston Reservoir. This is essentially a VA license sold by TWRA, therefore all license holders, including the sportsman’s license types, would need to purchase this additional license if fishing in VA.
Annual Resident Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 164)ages 65 and over $5
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age and residency is required. No supplemental licenses are required, but applicable permits are required.
Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 166) ages 65 and over $50
Available from any license agent for a one-time fee, and valid as long as holder remains a resident of Tennessee. This is not a Lifetime Sportsman License. Additional permits may be required. Can only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of age and residency is required. A trout license is not required.
Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman (Type 167) ages 65 and over $50
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state supplemental licenses or permits. Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
Lifetime Sportsman age determines the cost
An all-inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping and sport fishing without any Tennessee supplemental licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Applications are available at your local TWRA office and tnwildlife.org. Applications may be submitted by email at Lifetime.License@tn.gov, mail, fax (615-837-4262) or TWRA offices.
Type 401 (Under 3 years)
{Increase to $320 as of July 1, 2021}
$200
Type 406 (Ages 3–6) $659
Type 402 (Ages 7–12) $988
Type 403 (Ages 13–50) $1,976
Type 404 (Ages 51–64) $1,153
Type 405 (Ages 65 & over) $329

Nonresident Licenses

Ages 12 and under, no license required.

License

Fee

Junior Hunt/Fish (Type 070) (Required for nonresidents age 13–15 fishing and small game only.) $11
Three-Day Fishing (Type 077)—no trout $20.50
Ten-Day Fishing (Type 079)—no trout $30.50
Annual Fishing (Type 076)—no trout $50
Three-Day All Fish (Type 078)—includes trout $40.50
Ten-Day All Fish (Type 080)—includes trout $61.50
Annual All Fish (Type 081)—includes trout $99

Special Permits (Resident and Nonresident)

If you purchase one of the following special permits, you must also have all applicable licenses. Holders of Annual Sportsman’s License (Type 004), Lifetime Sportsman’s License (Types 401–406) or Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman (Type 167) do not need to purchase permits below.

License

Fee

Reelfoot Lake Permit is required for all users except: those under 16 years of age; residents 65 years or older.
Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Annual (Type 089) $17
Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Three-Day (Type 088) $10.50
Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Daily (Type 090) $3.50
Tellico-Citico Permit is required seasonally to fish Tellico River, Citico Creek and year-round on Green Cove Pond. See Trout Regulations for details.
Tellico-Citico Trout—Daily (Type 098); Required for all ages. See Trout Regulations. $6.50
Agency Lake Permits are required to fish Agency Fishing Lakes (TWRA Fishing Lakes Information), except those under 16 years of age and residents 65 years or older.
Agency Lake—Daily Permit (Type 191)
Valid on all Agency lakes, this permit is sold at Agency Lake offices.
$6
Agency Lake—Annual Permit (Type 193)
Valid on all Agency lakes, this permit is sold at Agency Lake Offices, TWRA Nashville Office, and Online at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com
$48
Bedford Lake—Daily Permit (Type 65) Available at any TWRA license agent. $6.50
Gatlinburg Trout Fishing – For information on fishing in the Gatlinburg area, contact the Gatlinburg Chamber of Commerce, 1-800-568-4748 or the Gatlinburg trout facility at 865-436-4558.
Gatlinburg Three-Day Trout Permit (Type 096)
Required for residents ages 13-64 and nonresidents ages 13 and up in addition to the appropriate fishing licenses except for those who purchase the (Type 097) permit.
$10.00
Gatlinburg One-Day Trout Permit (Type 097)
Only requirement for residents and nonresidents ages 13 and up to fish in Gatlinburg for one day.
$12.00
Gatlinburg Trout—Daily (Type 099)
Required for residents ages 13-64 and nonresidents ages 13 and up in addition to the appropriate fishing licenses except for those who purchase the (Type 097) permit.
$4.00

Resident Permanent Licenses

The following licenses are available only by application. Applications can be located at regional offices and online. Applications can be submitted at your local TWRA office, by email at twramiscapplication@tn.gov, mail or fax (615-837-4262). A doctor’s statement will be required as defined on the application. Licenses are available for a one-time fee and are valid as long as holder remains a resident of Tennessee. These are not Lifetime Sportsman Licenses. Additional permits may be required. A trout license is not required.

License

Fee

Sport Fishing License for the Blind (Type 197) $10
Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing (Type 189) $10
Application must be accompanied by a doctor’s statement stating that the applicant is permanently confined to a wheelchair.
DAV Hunting and Fishing (Type 198) $10
Available to resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason of war service or 100% service connected.
Intellectual Disability (Type 199) sport fish only $10
Must be receiving SSI Benefits due to intellectual disability.
Intellectual Disability Hunting and Fishing (Type 169) $10
Application must be accompanied by a doctor's statement stating that the applicant is intellectually disabled.

Guide License

This license is required for anyone who accepts compensation for providing assistance to another in any act of hunting, fishing, and/or trapping. Available by application only.

License

Fee

Resident Guide License (Type 450) $151.00
Nonresident Guide License (Type 455) $651.00