Buying a License
Fishing (saltwater and freshwater) and hunting licenses, valid January 1 to December 31 of each year, may be purchased online via fishnh.com, from license agents, at Fish and Game Department headquarters in Concord, Fish and Game Region 1, 2 and 4 Offices and some town or city clerks. Applicants must purchase their own licenses. A $2 transaction fee is charged for each license form ($2.75 for Internet purchases).
Regular hunting and fishing licenses, including recreational saltwater, clam, and oyster, may be reprinted at the original issuing agent or at N.H. Fish and Game in Concord. If purchased at a license agent, and it is at least one week from the date of issue, the license can be reprinted from the online sales site. There is no charge for reprints, however there is a limit on the number of reprints allowed. For all other miscellaneous licenses, duplicates are issued only at Fish and Game in Concord.
Residents Age 68 or Older
New Hampshire residents age 68 and over who would like a clam or oyster license must obtain a free, permanent Clam/Oyster License at Fish and Game Headquarters or by mail.
To obtain a license at resident rates, the person must present to the issuing agent a valid New Hampshire driver's license or non-driver's picture identification card issued by the N.H. Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles. Whenever the applicant is under 18 years of age, the parent or guardian of the applicant shall be a resident and present their valid New Hampshire driver's license or non-driver's picture identification.
Note: Any person who is no longer a legal resident of the state, but still retains a valid New Hampshire driver’s license, is guilty of a misdemeanor if they try to obtain a resident fishing, hunting or trapping license based on this driver’s license.
The following Permanent Disabled Licenses may be available to qualified N.H. residents: Disabled Veteran License, Paraplegic License, Blind Fishing License, Complimentary Fishing for Developmentally Disabled. Visit fishnh.com for information and application forms.
Conviction for violation of any fishing law or rule, littering, or criminal trespass (RSA 214:19; 207:36-b; 635:2) may result in the revocation of your fishing license or privilege.
Carry Your License
The license must be carried on your person when fishing or hunting. For fishing licenses, a pdf or other fixed image of a valid license visible on a smart phone is sufficient to comply with the law, as long as a Conservation Officer can view the information contained on the license and a photo ID can be presented. While clamming, your license must be displayed in plain view (see Shellfish).
Striped Bass Volunteer Angler Survey — Join Us!
Do you like to fish for striped bass in New Hampshire? Tell N.H. Fish and Game’s Marine Division about your striped bass fishing — and you could win a great prize!
For the Striped Bass Volunteer Angler Survey, anglers are asked to provide information such as amount of time fished and length of fish caught. Completed trip logs may be sent by mail, or an electronic logbook can be filled out online at fishnh.com/surveys/striped-bass.html. Marine fisheries biologists use the results to assess the status of striped bass populations each year.
How do I get started? Contact the Marine Division at [email protected] or (603) 868-1095 to get your logbook by mail or e-mail. Submit your logs by November 1, for a chance to win raffle prizes.