Skip to main content

Kansas

Hunting

Licenses & Fees

License or Permit / Fee / Purchase Description

  • Lifetime Senior Resident Hunt/Fish Combination: $42.50
  • Senior Resident Hunt: $15.00
  • Senior Resident Combination Hunt/Fish: $25.00
  • Resident Hunt: $27.50
  • Residents under 16: No license required
  • Resident Combination Hunt & Fish: $47.50
  • Resident Apprentice (two-time purchase Hunter Education deferral): $27.50
  • 5 Year Resident Combo Hunt & Fish: $182.50
  • 5 Year Resident Hunt License: $102.50
  • Multi-Year Resident Youth Hunt (ages 16-20): $42.50
  • Multi-Year Resident Youth Combination Hunt & Fish (ages 16-20): $72.50 A youth hunting and/or fishing license is available for residents age 16-20. The one-time purchase, multi-year youth hunting OR fishing license is $42.50, multi-year hunting/fishing combination license is $72.50. This multi-year license expires on Dec. 31 of the year the person turns 21.
  • Nonresident: $97.50 (Download Application if only applying by mail)
  • Nonresident under 16: $42.50
  • Nonresident Apprentice (two-time purchase Hunter Education deferral): $97.50
  • Nonresident Combination Hunt & Fish: $137.50
  • National Guard Permit: Free hunting, fishing, and Park Vehicle Permits are made available and issued based on funding to active members of the Kansas National Guard. DO NOT FAX!
  • Download National Guard Hunting, Fishing, and Park Vehicle Permit Application (PDF)
  • KS Disabled Veterans: Free hunting and fishing licenses are made available and issued based on funding. Applicant must provide a copy of current disabled veterans entitlement papers showing proof of at least 30% disability. DO NOT FAX!
  • Download Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License Application (PDF)

Lifetime Hunting License: $502.50 (Residents Only)
$69.00 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

Lifetime Hunting & Fishing Combination License: $962.50 (Residents Only)
$131.50 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

Lifetime Furharvester License: $502.50 (Residents Only)
$69.00 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

  • Controlled Shooting Area: $27.50 - All Annual Hunting Licenses can be purchased from all licensed agents or online
  • Duplicates (all licenses and/or permits): $2.50
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any licensed agent .
  • Dogs - Commercial: $22.50
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any Region office.
  • Dogs - Field Trial:$22.50
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any Region office.
  • Night Vision Equip Permit: $2.50

Annual Hunting License:

All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law. Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license. Annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife and Park offices.

No hunter may purchase more than one permit that allows the harvest of an antlered deer.

For more information see the Deer Management Unit Map and Deer Regulations

Schedules A, B, and C list all deer permits available. To Determine which permits you are eligible to obtain, click here for the online deer permit guide.

Schedule A - Choices for General Resident Deer Permits 2021Draw Only PermitsResident Either Species/Either Sex Firearms Permit

APPLICATION PERIOD: May 11 - June 11, 2021

Applicants must apply online or by phone 620-672-0728.

All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point.

Resident Firearm Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn)

  • $52.50 General Residents;
  • $32.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $97.50 NR Tenant
  • $22.50 Resident Youth (15 and younger)

Permits are valid either in the EAST units (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the WEST units (1, 2, 17, 18) during the regular firearms season using any legal equipment.

A resident hunter who does not want to hunt in the current year season can purchase an $11.50 preference point that will count toward a firearm either species, either sex deer permit in a future drawing.

If unsuccessful in the draw, hunter receives a refund check and will be issued a preference point for a future drawing.

Preference points remain on file for 5 years from last date a point was issued or purchased. If applicant fails to make at least one application or purchase one point within five consecutive years, all earned preference points will be reset to zero.

For purchase over the counter, online or by phone.

Resident Any-Season White-tailed Deer permit (white-tailed deer buck, doe or fawn) Resident Any-season White-tailed Deer permits are valid statewide in any season, provided legal equipment is used for that season. Available Aug. 3 - Dec. 31.

  • $42.50 General residents
  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50 NR Tenant
  • $12.50 Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid statewide with archery equipment only during archery season. Available Aug. 3 - Dec. 31

  • $42.50 General residents
  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50 NR Tenant
  • $12.50 Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid either in the east unit (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the west unit (1, 2, 17, 18) during the early muzzleloader season and the regular firearm season using muzzleloading equipment only. Available Aug. 3 - Dec. 31

  • $42.50 General residents
  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50 NR Tenant
  • $12.50 Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit

  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant

Available to individuals who qualify as resident landowners, including family members living with the landowner or tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available Aug. 3 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a resident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

Resident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

  • $22.50 General Residents
  • $10.00 Resident Youth (15 and younger)

White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

  • The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17 and 19, including KDWPT managed public hunting areas within those units.
  • Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be issued to the same individual and are valid only in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 19 on private lands with landowner permission, Walk-In Hunting Areas, and Berentz-Dick, Elk City, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available

2021 DEER SEASON DATES:

  • Youth and Disability Season: Sept. 4 - Sept. 12, 2021
  • Early Muzzleloader Season: Sept. 13 - Sept. 26, 2021
  • Archery Season: Sept. 13 - Dec. 31, 2021
  • Pre-Rut Firearm Whitetail Antlerless Season: Oct. 9 - Oct. 11, 2021. Ft Riley Unit CLOSED for pre-rut season. Any permit that allows the harvest of a whitetailed antlerless deer is valid during this season. Equipment and unit restrictions on permit imposed. Hunter orange clothing is required.
  • Firearms Season: Dec. 1 - Dec. 12, 2021
  • 1st Extended Whitetail Antlerless Only: Jan. 1 - Jan. 9, 2022 in Units 6, 8, 9, 10 and 17.
  • 2nd Extended Whitetail Antlerless Only: Jan. 1 - Jan. 16, 2022 in Units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11, 14 and 16.
  • 3rd Extended Whitetail Antlerless Only: Jan. 1 - Jan. 23, 2022 in Units 10A (Ft. Leavenworth), 12, 13, 15 and 19.
  • Extended Archery Whitetail Antlerless Only: Jan. 24 - Jan. 31, 2022 in Unit 19 ONLY

Schedule B - Choices for Nonresident Deer Permits 2021 Draw Only PermitsNONRESIDENT DEER PERMIT

All non-resident deer permits are sold out. This year, KDWPT received a record number of applications and we have no leftovers.

APPLICATION PERIOD: April 1 - April 30, 2021

Applicants must apply online or by phone, 1-800-918-2877

All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point. You will also need to purchase a nonresident hunting license, $97.50 (16 and over), $42.50 Jr. hunt license (15 and younger)

  • $117.50 Nonresident Youth White-tailed Deer Permit (youth 15 and younger and includes $27.50 nonrefundable application fee)
  • $442.50 Nonresident White-tailed Deer Permit, (16 and older and includes $27.50 nonrefundable application fee)

Bag Limit: (1) white-tailed deer - buck, doe or fawn AND (1) white-tailed antlerless deer (No additional fee required. Included with White-tailed Deer Permit)

The deadline for applying is APRIL 30, 2021.

Apply Online

Helpful Application Information

Hunter applies in one unit and selects one adjacent unit to also hunt, as well as the season choice (archery, muzzleloader, or firearm) at the time of application. Muzzleloader permit holders may hunt during early muzzleloader season and regular firearm season using muzzleloader equipment only.

Group Hunt: The group hunt application is to accommodate those who do not want to hunt unless their hunting partners draw also. Applicants (up to 5) must apply for the same unit and the same weapon choice. Each person will make application and there will be a question on the application about groups. The first applicant in the group to apply would choose the create group option on this question. This will create a group under this applicants KDWPT #. Each applicant applying after the group has been set up would choose the join group option and they would fill in the Group Leaders KDWPT # at that time.

  • $152.50 Mule Deer Stamp Fee (plus Nonresident White-tailed deer permit fee listed above)

A nonresident must apply for the Mule Deer Stamp during the April application period. A nonresident who successfully draws an archery or muzzleloader White-tailed Deer Permit among units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 17 or 18 and has applied for the Mule Deer Stamp will be entered into a draw for one of a limited number of Mule Deer Stamps. If drawn, the applicant's White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Permit converts to an Either-species/Either-sex Archery or Muzzleloader Permit. Preference points do not count toward this Mule Deer Stamp draw.

If unsuccessful in the Mule Deer Stamp Draw, hunter will receive a refund and be issued the White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Draw Permit.

  • $26.50 Preference Point.

A nonresident hunter who does not want to hunt in the current season can purchase a preference point that will count toward a white-tailed deer permit in a future drawing.

If unsuccessful in the draw, hunter receives a refund check and will be issued a preference point for a future drawing.

Preference points remain on file for 5 years from last date a point was issued or purchased. If applicant fails to make at least one application or purchase one point within five consecutive years, all earned preference points will be reset to zero.

For purchase over the counter, online or by phone:

  • $87.50 Nonresident Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit

Available to nonresident individuals who qualify as Kansas landowners. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by the nonresident landowner, during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available at vendor locations or online August 3 - Dec. 31

  • $87.50 Special Hunt-Own-Land Relative Deer Permit

Available to individuals who qualify as lineal ascendants or descendants or siblings of resident landowners or all tenants, and spouses of a qualifying landowner. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Lineal relatives include direct ascendants or descendants such as a grandfather, mother, son, or granddaughter. Cousins, uncles, or nieces are NOTlineal family members. You would also need to purchase an annual hunting license. Available at vendor locations or online August 3 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a nonresident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

  • $52.50 Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler).

White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull. Available at vendor locations or online August 3 - Dec. 31

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

  • The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17 and 19, including KDWPT managed public hunting areas within those units.
  • Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be issued to the same individual and are valid only in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 19 on private lands with landowner permission, Walk-In Hunting Areas, and Berentz-Dick, Elk City, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available

Schedule C - Choices for Nonresident Tenant Deer Permits

$87.50 NR Tenant Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit (available online or at vendor locations over the counter)

Available to individuals who qualify as a tenant, including family members living with the tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available at vendor locations or online August 3 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a tenant deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

  • $52.50 Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler)

*White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull) Available online or over the counter August 3 - Dec. 31

  • Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:
    • The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17 and 19, including KDWPT managed public hunting areas within those units.
    • Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be issued to the same individual and are valid only in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 19 on private lands with landowner permission, Walk-In Hunting Areas, and Berentz-Dick, Elk City, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available

FALL TURKEY FEES:

  • General Resident Permit: $27.50
  • Resident Landowner/Tenant Permit: $15.00
  • Resident Youth Permit: $7.50
  • Nonresident Permit: $52.50
  • Nonresident Youth Permit: $12.50
  • Nonresident Tenant Permit: $27.50

Waterfowl

All waterfowl hunters 16 and older must have a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Federal Waterfowl Stamp), and all hunters who are required to obtain a hunting license must also have a Kansas State Waterfowl Stamp and a Kansas Harvest Information Program (HIP) stamp before hunting ducks, geese, or mergansers. (Those not required to have a Kansas hunting license include people hunting their own land, and residents 15 and younger)

Annual Hunting License - All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law. Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license. Annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism offices.

Waterfowl Stamps and Licence - All Waterfowl stamps and licenses can be bought at any licensed Agent , Pratt Operations Office , or online, EXCEPT for the Federal Waterfowl Stamp which is bought at a US Post Office, KDWPT Regional and Park Offices, and select license agents. All Waterfowl stamps are good through season.

  • Kansas HIP Stamp: $2.50
  • State Waterfowl Stamp: $10
  • Federal Waterfowl Stamp: $26.50 - Purchased at any KDWPT office or at any US Post Office.

Buy your Stamps Online

State stamps are available at any licensed agent, online , Pratt Operations Office or Regional office. Federal stamps are available at a US Post Office, Pratt Operations Office or Regional office . Federal stamps must be signed across the face of the stamp.

Waterfowl stamps are not required to hunt Coot, Dove, Rail, Snipe, Woodcock, or Sandhill Crane. HIP is required.

If hunting Sandhill Crane, in addition to a hunting license ( if required), a federal sandhill crane hunting permit issued through and validated by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks is required to hunt cranes. Crane permits obtained in other states are not valid in Kansas. The validated permit ($7.50 validation fee) is available at any licensed agent , online , Pratt Operations Office , or Regional office .

All Kansas sandhill crane hunters must pass the "Test for Sandhill Crane Hunters" before obtaining a sandhill crane hunting permit.

"Online Test for Sandhill Crane Hunters." Click this link to take an online test that provides information about identifying whooping cranes, sandhill cranes, and look-alike species, as well as the hunter’s ability to choose safe shots. The test is both entertaining and informative and only takes a few minutes.