Skip to main content
Florida

Freshwater Fishing

Freshwater Fishing

Licenses

Fishing license requirements and fees

License, permit, and issuance fees and exemptions are established by the Legislature. In addition to the cost of licenses and permits specified in this section, license agents charge issuance fees for selling licenses and permits. For up-to-date license information, visit MyFWC.com/License. Anglers may use credit cards to purchase licenses and permits 24 hours a day at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com or by calling toll-free 888-FISH-FLORIDA (347-4356). This enables anglers to obtain and use licenses immediately. Handling fees will apply on all Internet and telephone sales. License sales are nonrefundable.

Licensing requirements follow the species of fish you are fishing for, regardless of where you are fishing. Please see the “Frequently answered questions” on F.A.Q. for more information. For fishing license exemptions, please see Bag & Length Limits, but remember anyone can buy a license to contribute to conservation.

Resident Freshwater Fishing Licenses

For purposes of fishing in Florida, a “resident” is defined as any person who has declared Florida as his or her only state of residence as evidenced by a valid Florida driver license or identification card with both a Florida address and a Florida residency verified by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV). If the person does not have a Florida driver license or identification card on record with HSMV, a Florida voter information card, declaration of domicile, homestead exemption, or Florida Military Orders (active-duty United States military personnel and their immediate family members also stationed here) may be used as proof of Florida residency at a license agent or Tax Collector location.

Freshwater Fishing (valid 12 months from specified start date)

$17.00

Youth Freshwater Fishing (optional for children under the age of 16 and valid until 17th birthday—a fishing license is not required until age 16)

$17.00

5-Year Freshwater Fishing
(valid 5 years from specified start date)

$79.00

Freshwater/Saltwater Fishing Combo (valid 12 months from specified start date)

$32.50

Freshwater Fishing/Hunting Combo (valid 12 months from specified start date)

$32.50

Freshwater/Saltwater Fishing/Hunting Combo (valid 12 months from specified start date)

$48.00

Resident 64+ Silver Sportsman's License includes Freshwater Fishing and Hunting licenses; and Wildlife Management Area, Archery,
Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Deer, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl permits

(valid 12 months from specified start date)

$13.50

Resident 64+ Silver Sportsman's License includes Freshwater Fishing and Hunting licenses; and Wildlife Management Area, Archery,
Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Deer, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl permits

(valid five years from specified start date)

$67.50

Sportsman's License includes Freshwater Fishing and Hunting licenses; and Wildlife Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Deer, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl permits

(valid 12 months from specified start date)

$80.50

Gold Sportsman's License includes Hunting, Saltwater Fishing and Freshwater Fishing licenses; and Wildlife Management Area, Archery,
Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Deer, Turkey, Florida Waterfowl, Snook and Lobster permits

(valid 12 months from specified start date)

$100.00

Youth Gold Sportsman’s License

(optional for children under the age of 16 and valid until 17th birthday—a fishing license is not required until age 16—hunter safety certificate required—
includes same licenses and permits as Gold Sportsman’s License)

$100.00

Military Gold Sportsman's License includes same licenses and permits as Gold Sportsman’s License

Available at county tax collectors’ offices with current military identification card for Florida residents who are active duty or fully retired members of the U.S. Armed Forces, Armed Forces Reserve, Florida National Guard, Coast Guard or Coast Guard Reserve. Fully retired veterans may renew online.
(valid 12 months from specified start date)

$20.00

5-Year Gold Sportsman’s License

(includes Freshwater Fishing, Hunting and Saltwater Fishing licenses; and Wildlife Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Deer, Turkey, Florida Waterfowl, Snook and Lobster permits)

$494.00

Nonresident Freshwater Fishing Licenses

Freshwater Fishing (valid 12 months from specified start date)

$47.00

3-Day Freshwater Fishing (valid 3 consecutive days from specified start date)

$17.00

7-Day Freshwater Fishing (valid 7 consecutive days from specified start date)

$30.00

Lifetime Licenses (For Florida Residents Only)

Lifetime licenses are available to Florida residents only. Funds generated from sales of these licenses are invested, creating an endowment to support long-term conservation of Florida’s fish and wildlife resources. Costs of lifetime licenses are less than what would be spent on annual licenses, permits and fees, and are valid in Florida even if you move out of state.

Lifetime Sportsman's License
(includes Hunting, Freshwater Fishing and Saltwater Fishing licenses; Deer, Wildlife Management Area,
Archery, Turkey, Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Florida Waterfowl, Snook and Lobster permits)

4 years or younger

$401.50

5-12 years

$701.50

13 years and older

$1,001.50

Lifetime Freshwater Fishing License

4 years or younger

$126.50

5-12 years

$226.50

13 years or older

$301.50

License Exemptions: You do not need a freshwater fishing license if...

  • You are a child under 16 years of age.
  • You are a Florida resident 65 years of age or older and you possess proof of age and residency, such as a Florida driver’s license or ID, or an optional no-cost Resident 65+ Hunting and Fishing Certificate.
  • You are a resident who is fishing with live or natural bait, using poles or lines that are not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism, and you are fishing for noncommercial purposes in your home county. However, you must have a valid fishing license to fish by any method in a fish management area. This is often referred to as the cane-pole exemption.
  • You are fishing in the St. Mary’s River or Lake Seminole (but not including tributary creeks in Florida) and have a valid Georgia fishing license.
  • You freshwater fish in your county of residence on your homestead or the homestead of your spouse or minor child, or if you are a minor child hunting or freshwater fishing on the homestead of your parent.
  • You are a Florida resident certified as totally and permanently disabled and you possess a Florida Resident Disabled Person Hunting and Fishing Certificate.
  • You are a resident who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, you are not stationed in this state, and you are home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
  • You have been accepted as a client for developmental disabilities services by the Agency for Persons with Disabilities. The agency must furnish proof to such clients.
  • You possess a Resident Freshwater Commercial Fishing License.
  • You are freshwater fishing on License-Free Freshwater Fishing Days: first weekend in April (April 1-2, 2023) and the second weekend in June (June 10-11, 2023).

A fish pond is a man-made pond constructed for the primary purpose of fishing, entirely within the property lines of the owner and with no surface water connection to public waters.

  • You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or less that is located entirely within the private property of its owner.
  • You are fishing in a fish pond of more than 20 acres, whose owner has purchased a fish pond license at a fee of $3 per surface acre.