Hunting and fishing licenses go on sale February 18 each year, the beginning of prime fishing, and are valid through the last day of February the following year.
Note: According to federal law, a Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.
Seasons are subject to change. License fees are subject to change. Migratory bird seasons are determined by federal regulations. Most licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License and specialty licenses, such as Wheelchair, Disabled Veteran, SSI (Supplemental Security Income) and Blind Fishing licenses, are available from most county clerks, sporting goods stores, hardware stores, marinas, the TWRA website (www.tnwildlife.org) and all TWRA regional offices.
Nonresidents who were born in Tennessee may apply for Native Tennessean annual licenses. These licenses provide nonresidents born in the state but no longer residing in the state, the opportunity to purchase annual Tennessee hunting/fishing/trapping licenses at the same cost as resident first time applicants. Available by application only. Details and application available online at www.tnwildlife.org. Native non-residents who have previously applied can renew their licenses online at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com, through the TWRA OnTheGo app, or at any of our Tennessee license Agents.
Misplaced a License?
All hunting and fishing licenses including lifetime licenses may be replaced at no cost at GoOutdoorsTennessee.com any time 24/7/365. You can also replace your license at any license agent for a fee of $8.00. Please verify your address at the time of purchase.
Resident License Purchase Information
Resident licenses can be purchased by:
- Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license or Tennessee state ID issued by the Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee drivers license within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state driver’s license only accepted, for Military Personnel and Student meeting the criteria below.
- Persons who do not drive or do not possess a valid driver’s license from another state, but who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home, may prove residency by presenting to a TWRA license agent any two of the following documents:
- current Tennessee voter registration card;
- current Tennessee vehicle registration or title;
- Form I-94 issued by the U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Service
- current rental/mortgage contract or receipt including deed of sale for property or receipt for payment of Tennessee real estate taxes within last year
- Military personnel on active duty in this state and children under 16 years of age who reside with them, regardless of Tennessee resident status.
- Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college or university for at least six months, with an appropriate student ID.