Choose your state

Alabama Alabama Hunting & Fishing

Connecticut Connecticut Hunting Connecticut Fishing

Delaware Delaware Hunting Delaware Fishing

Florida Florida Freshwater Fishing Florida Saltwater Fishing Florida Hunting

Georgia Georgia Hunting 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide Georgia Fishing Georgia Drivers Manual Georgia Commercial Drivers Georgia Motorcycle Manual Georgia Alcohol & Drug Awareness Program

Idaho Idaho Big Game Seasons & Rules – 2015

Illinois Illinois Hunting Regulations – 2016-2017

Indiana Indiana Hunting Indiana Fishing

Louisiana Louisiana Hunting Regulations 2015

Maine Maine Hunting Maine Fishing Maine ATV & Snowmobile

Maryland Maryland Hunting Maryland Fishing

Massachusetts Massachusetts Hunting & Fishing - 2016 Massachusetts Hunting & Fishing - 2017 Massachusetts Saltwater Fishing

Michigan Michigan Fishing

Mississippi Mississippi Hunting & Fishing

Nevada Nevada Hunting Nevada Big Game Hunting Seasons & Applications Nevada Fishing

New Hampshire New Hampshire Freshwater Fishing New Hampshire Saltwater Fishing New Hampshire Hunting New Hampshire ATV & Snowmobile

New Jersey New Jersey Freshwater Fishing New Jersey Saltwater Fishing New Jersey Hunting

New Mexico New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info – 2016-2017

New York New York Hunting New York Fishing

Ohio Ohio Hunting Ohio Fishing

Oklahoma Oklahoma Hunting Oklahoma Fishing

Oregon Oregon Big Game Hunting - 2016 Oregon Fishing - 2017 Oregon Big Game Hunting - 2017 Oregon Fishing - 2016 Oregon Game Bird Hunting

Rhode Island Rhode Island Freshwater Fishing Rhode Island Saltwater Fishing Rhode Island Hunting

South Carolina South Carolina Hunting & Fishing

Vermont Vermont Hunting & Fishing Vermont Hunting

Virginia Virginia Hunting Virginia Migratory Game Bird Hunting Virginia Fishing

Logo

Licenses & Permits

Hunting Regulations Icon Rhode Island Hunting

No person shall hunt, pursue, take or kill any wild bird or animal in the state without first having obtained a Rhode Island hunting license (RIGL 20-13-1). Hunters must have a license in possession, on their person, at all times and shall present it for inspection on demand by any authorized person. Failure to present a license shall make a person liable to the same penalties as if he or she was hunting without a license (RIGL 20-2-9). Licensed hunters and trappers are subject to inspection of any boat, vehicle, game bag, blind, stand, or other paraphernalia used in conjunction with licensed activity (RIGL 20-2-32). Licenses may be suspended or revoked because of violations of hunting rules and regulations (RIGL 20-2-13).

The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting and fishing license, shall serve as a permit to hunt State Management Areas (RIGL 20-18-2 and 20-18-3), except when check stations are in operation or when special permits are required for deer, waterfowl, or turkey hunting on state lands.

This permit shall be valid only from the first day of season to the last day in February and spring turkey season. The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is prohibited.

Hunting Licenses are available from DEM Division of Licensing at 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576; most city and town clerks (licenses only); most sporting goods stores; and http://www.dem.ri.gov/. To replace a lost or stolen license or permit, contact DEM Division of Licensing.

License Type

Fee

Resident Hunting (must be 15 years old)1

$18.00

Combination (Hunting & Fishing)

$33.00

Non-Resident Hunting (must be 15 years old)1

$45.00

Non-Resident Tourist Hunting License (3-day)

$16.00

Permanent Resident Combination (over 65 or disabled)

No fee3

Junior Hunting License (12-14 years old)1

$18.00

Resident and Non-Resident Active Military Personnel

$18.00

Deer Permit (Resident)2

$12.50

Deer Permit (Non-Resident)2

$25.50

Turkey Permit (Resident)

$7.50

Turkey Permit (Non-Resident)

$20.00

RI State Waterfowl Stamp

$7.50

RI Gamebird Permit (Resident and Non-Resident)

$15.50

RI HIP Permit

No fee

All Outdoors Package Permit (Resident)

$75.00

Fur Buyer (Resident)

$10.00

Fur Buyer (Non-Resident)

$30.00

Shooting Preserve

$25.00

Shooting Preserve Hunting License

$3.50

Trapping (Resident)

$10.00

Trapping (Non-Resident) if reciprocal privileges allowed

$30.00

1 NOTE: A Junior Hunting License is available for persons age 12-14 years of age upon completion of a Hunter Safety Course. The junior hunter must hunt in the immediate company of an adult, 21 years of age or older, holding a valid RI hunting license.

2 Individual seasonal permits required for each deer hunted.

3 Any resident reaching 65 years may obtain a free permanent license from the offices of the DEM or any city or town clerk. Permanent disability licenses are available at the offices of the DEM.

Special Permits

Special Permits are available at no extra fee by sending a self addressed stamped envelope to: DEM Division of Fish & Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Rd, W. Kingston, RI 02892 (401) 789-0281.

  • Beaver trapping permit
  • Burlingame North Camp hunting permit
  • Fisher trapping permit
  • South Shore Management Area
  • Northwest Cooperative Hunting Area deer permit
  • State lands trapping permit
  • Providence Water Supply Cooperative

Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)

All migratory bird hunters are required to obtain a permit and answer a short survey. HIP permits are available free through all license vendors and DEM. The HIP program is designed to provide state fish and wildlife agencies and the US Fish and Wildlife Service better information for managing our nation’s migratory bird resources.