Logo

General Restrictions

Fishing Regulations Icon Oregon Fishing

The Following Activities are Unlawful

  1. Using more than one rod or line when angling except:
    1. A person with a Two-Rod Validation may use two rods or lines (or five rods or lines only when ice fishing) in areas where use of the Two-Rod Validation is allowed.
    2. Youth anglers (under 12 years of age) can use two rods where legal without the two-rod validation.
    3. When angling outside of three miles from shore for offshore pelagic species, any number of rods or lines are allowed only if no species other than offshore pelagic species have been retained.
  2. Not closely attending rods or lines.
  3. Using gurdies, winches or reels affixed to a boat to land fish (rod or line must be held in hand) except when used to retrieve crab rings or pots.
  4. Using drones/unmanned vehicles when angling or to aid in angling.
  5. Snagging or attempting to snag gamefish.
  6. Angling through a human-made ice hole larger than 12 inches in diameter or length.
  7. Taking or attempting to take any fish by chumming, or knowingly angle with the aid of chum. Except when angling for offshore pelagic species outside of three miles from shore if no species other than offshore pelagic species have been retained.
  8. Continuing to angle for the same type of fish after catching and retaining a bag or possession limit. Exceptions:
    1. In bass tournaments when provided for in tournament regulations.
    2. When assisting a disabled angler who has an Oregon Disabilities Hunting and Fishing permit.
    3. When sturgeon angling, provided all subsequent fish are released.
    4. Boat limit regulation in the ocean and portions of the Columbia River (see Marine Zone Regulations, #8).
  9. Continuing to angle for jack salmon after taking a daily bag limit of adult salmon.
  10. Catching all or part of another person’s bag limit, except as provided for by an Oregon Disabilities Hunting and Fishing Permit.
  11. Buying or selling fish or shellfish, or parts thereof, that were caught or taken for personal use. Except the skeletal remains of ocean food fish may be sold; and eggs from ocean-caught salmon may be sold to a licensed fish or bait dealer.
  12. All undersized, oversized, prohibited species or unwanted fish or shellfish should not be removed from the water and must be immediately released unharmed.
  13. Wasting fish, shellfish or marine intertidal invertebrates.
  14. Disposing of a fish carcass into waters other than where the fish was caught. Anglers must retain enough of the carcass to identify the size, species and any fin clip.
  15. Taking a fish with a radio tag (identified by an antenna trailing from its mouth or body) except in the mainstem Columbia River and its tributaries, when consistent with all other applicable laws and regulations.
  16. Remove from streams, carcasses or parts of salmon and steelhead not taken legally.
  17. Angling on private land without permission.
  18. Trespassing on a fishway, weir or fish trap, or angling within 200 feet above and 200 feet below a weir or the entrance/exit of a private or public fishway or fish trap.
  19. Taking or attempting to take fish from state or federal hatchery facilities.
  20. Removal, alteration or possession of ODFW signs.
  21. Failing to give the Department any part of a salmon or other fish containing coded-wire tags, such as the snouts of salmon that have been marked with adipose fin clips.
  22. Attaching a tag or physical mark to any fish in Oregon waters without a scientific taking permit. However, adipose or otherwise fin-clipped fish may be tagged as part of fishing tournament activities authorized under Department tournament permits. Contact ODFW in Salem for an application.
  23. Refusing to allow ODFW employees, peace officers or landowners to inspect license, catch and gear. It is also unlawful, for any person licensed by ODFW to fail to comply with the directions of authorized Department personnel related to the collection of sampling data or material from salmon or other fish. By purchasing a license or tag a person consents to these inspections.
  24. Knowingly provide false information to the Department or Commission on any report required by law.
  25. Bringing live fish or live eggs into the state, transporting them overland, or from one water body to another without a permit from ODFW.
  26. Unless authorized by a specific take permit issued by the Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission, no person may angle for or possess any of the following species of fish:
    • Goose Lake lamprey
    • Western brook lamprey
    • Pit-Klamath lamprey
    • Klamath Basin lamprey
    • Warner Basin tui chub
    • Oregon Lakes tui chub
    • Borax Lake chub
    • California roach
    • Lahontan redside shiner
    • Tahoe sucker
    • Jenny Creek sucker
    • Margined sculpin
    • Caribe or piranha
    • Pacific lamprey
    • Miller Lake lamprey
    • Alvord chub
    • Sheldon tui chub
    • Oregon chub of Hutton Spring
    • Millicoma dace
    • Goose Lake sucker
    • Lost River sucker
    • Warner sucker
    • Pit sculpin
    • Walking catfish
    • River lamprey
    • Klamath lamprey
    • Goose Lake tui chub
    • Catlow tui chub
    • Summer Lake Basin tui chub
    • Oregon chub (Willamette Basin)
    • Foskett Springs speckled dace
    • Modoc sucker
    • Short nose sucker (Klamath Co.)
    • Malheur mottled sculpin
    • Grass carp

Take the Family fishing!

2019 Free Fishing Days

February 16-17, June 1-2, August 17-18,
and November 29-30

Introduce a friend, child, co-worker or family member to fishing during Oregon’s free fishing days. ODFW offers Oregon residents and visitors the opportunity to explore and experience fishing, crabbing or clamming without the need for a license or tags. For more information visit the ODFW website, myodfw.com.

 

Is Your Boat 10 Feet Or Longer?

You need an Aquatic Invasive Species Permit!

  • One permit per boat while in use; permit is transferrable.
  • Required for all motorized boats and non-motorized (drift boats, kayaks, canoes, etc.) 10 feet or longer
  • $7 annually ($5 permit plus
    $2 agent fee) — $22 for nonresidents
  • Purchase where hunting/fishing licenses are sold or online at
    Oregon Marine Board website at boatoregon.com.
  • Automatically included with motorboat registration

All boats, regardless of size, are required to stop at inspection stations when stations are observed and open. Failure to stop could result in a $110 fine.

The Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program was established by the Oregon Legislature in an effort to keep Oregon’s lakes, rivers and streams free of destructive species like quagga mussels. See odfw.com for more information.