Antler Restriction Program

Hunting Regulations Icon New York Hunting

A mandatory antler point restriction exists in WMUs 3A, 3C, 3H, 3J, 3K, 4G, 4O, 4P, 4R, 4S, and 4W in Southeastern New York (see deer hunting season maps). This program will continue as DEC encourages hunters elsewhere to practice voluntary restraint. Over time, as more and more hunters in the broader region opt to pass on young bucks voluntarily, it may be appropriate to lift the restrictions.

Antler Identification

Antler Point Restriction

  • At least 1 antler with 3 or more points that are at least 1″ long
  • Applies to all public and private land and all seasons
  • Hunters aged 12-16 are exempt and may take any buck with antlers 3″ or longer

Antlerless Deer

  • Adult does, doe fawns, buck fawns (button bucks), adult bucks without antlers, or with antlers less than 3″ long
  • May be taken with appropriate antlerless-only or
    either-sex tags