Division of Fish & Wildlife

Hunting Regulations Icon New Jersey Hunting

State of New Jersey

Philip D. Murphy, Governor

Sheila Y. Oliver, Lieutenant Governor

Department of Environmental Protection

Catherine R. McCabe, Commissioner

Office of Natural and Historic Resources

Ray Bukowski, Assistant Commissioner

Division of Fish and Wildlife

Larry Herrighty, Director

Dave Golden, Assistant Director

Paulette Nelson, Assistant Director

Al Ivany, Chief, Information and Education

Joe Cimino, Administrator, Marine Fisheries

Vacant, Chief, Marine Fisheries

Jeff Brust, Research Scientist

Russell Babb, Chief, Shellfisheries

Sean Ciancuilli, Chief, Law Enforcement

Lisa Barno, Chief, Freshwater Fisheries

Dave Golden, Chief, Land Management

Carole Stanko, Chief, Wildlife Management

John Heilferty, Acting Chief, Endangered and Nongame Species

Cindy Kuenstner, Editor

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife is a professional, environmental organization dedicated to the protection, management and wise use of the state’s fish and wildlife resources. The Digest is available at license agents and Fish and Wildlife offices. Information may be reprinted with permission. Subscriptions are not available. This Digest is designed and produced by J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC; www.jfgriffin.com. Partial funding for the Digest is provided by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.

Cover photo Deer hunters (www.TheRawSpirit.com)

New Jersey Fish and Wildlife Councils and Advisory Committees

Fish and Game Council

Frank Virgillio, Acting Chair

Phillip Brodhecker

Joe DeMartino

Jim DeStephano

Agust Gudmundsson

Dr. Rick Lathrop

Jeffrey A. Link

Robert Pollack

Loren Robinson

Ken Whildin

Wildlife Rehabilitators
Advisory Committee

Diane Nickerson, Chair

Phillip Brodhecker

Giselle Chazotte-Smisko

Carol Dragland

Heather Freeman

Tracy Leaver

Dr. Nicole Lewis

Dr. Erica Miller

Dr. Jennifer Norton

Michael O’Malley

Endangered and Nongame
Species Advisory Committee

Dr. Rick Lathrop, Chair

Dr. James Applegate

Dr. Barbara Brummer

Dr. Joanna Burger

Dr. Emile DeVito

Howard Geduldig

Dr. Erica Miller

Dr. David Mizrahi

Jane Morton-Galetto

Dr. Howard Reinert

James Shissias

Waterfowl Stamp
Advisory Committee

Robert VonSuskil, Chair

Peter Bacinski

Joseph DeMartino

Mike Kantor

Scott Paterson

Mike Shanahan

Jim A. Shissias

Dr. Lenore Tedesco

Ken Whildin

Atlantic Coast
Shellfish Council

John J. Maxwell, Chair

Walter L. Johnson, III, Vice Chair

Walter Hughes

Delaware Bay
Shellfish Council

Warren Hollinger, Chair

Stephen J. Fleetwood, Vice Chair

Richard Malinowski

Marine Fisheries Council

Richard N. Herb, Acting Chair

James Alexis

Erling Berg

Dr. Eleanor Ann Bochenek

Warren Hollinger

John J. Maxwell

Frances Puskas

Sergio Radossi

Joe Rizzo

Robert R. Rush, Jr.

Joseph A. Zaborowski

Where to Write Us

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, Division of Fish and Wildlife
MC 501-03 • P.O. Box 420 • Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 • NJFishandWildlife.com

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife

Our Mission

To protect and manage the state’s fish and wildlife to maximize their long-term ­biological, recreational and economic value for all New Jerseyans.

Our Goals

• To maintain New Jersey’s rich variety of fish and wildlife species at stable, healthy levels and to protect and enhance the many habitats on which they depend.

• To educate New Jerseyans on the values and needs of our fish and wildlife and to foster a positive human/wildlife co-existence.

• To maximize the recreational and commercial use of New Jersey’s fish and wildlife for both present and future generations.

Large Format for the Visually Impaired

This Digest is available photocopied in a large format.

Write to:

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife
Large Format Hunting Digest
MC 501-03, P.O. Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420