New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife

Fishing Regulations New Jersey Freshwater Fishing

State of New Jersey

Chris Christie, Governor

Kim Guadagno, Lieutenant Governor

Department of Environmental Protection

Bob Martin, Commissioner

Office of Natural and Historic Resources

Rich Boornazian, Assistant Commissioner

Division of Fish and Wildlife

Larry Herrighty, Director

Dave Golden, Assistant Director

Paulette Nelson, Assistant Director

Lisa Barno, Chief, Freshwater Fisheries

Al Ivany, Chief, Information and Education

Vacant, Chief, Marine Fisheries

Vacant, Chief, Shellfisheries

Matt Brown, Acting Chief, Law Enforcement

Vacant, Chief, Land Management

David Jenkins, Chief, Endangered and Nongame Species

Carole Stanko, Chief, Wildlife Management

Cindy Kuenstner, Editor

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife is a professional, environmental organization dedicated to the protection, management and wise use of the state’s fish and wildlife resources.

The Digest is available at license agents and Fish and Wildlife offices. Information may be reprinted with permission. Subscriptions are not available.

This Digest is designed and produced by J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC; www.jfgriffin.com.
Partial funding for the Digest is provided by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.

Cover photo © Eric Engbretson (underwaterfishphotos.com)

New Jersey Fish and Wildlife Councils

Fish and Game Council

Dave Burke, Chair

Phillip Brodhecker

Joe DeMartino

Jim DeStephano

Agust Gudmundsson

Dr. Rick Lathrop

Jeffrey A. Link

Robert Pollack

Frank Virgilio

Waterfowl Stamp
Advisory Committee

Robert VonSuskil, Chair

Peter Bacinski

Dave Burke

Joseph DeMartino

Mike Kantor

Scott Paterson

Mike Shanahan

Jim A. Shissias

Dr. Lenore Tedesco

Endangered and Nongame
Species Advisory Committee

Dr. Rick Lathrop, Chair

Dr. James Applegate

Dr. Barbara Brummer

Dr. Joanna Burger

Dr. Emile DeVito

Howard Geduldig

Dr. Erica Miller

Dr. David Mizrahi

Jane Morton-Galetto

Dr. Howard Reinert

James Shissias

Wildlife Rehabilitators
Advisory Committee

Diane Nickerson, Chair

Donald Bonica

Phillip Brodhecker

Giselle Chazotte-Smisko

Lisa DeLambert

Heather Freeman

Tracy Leaver

Dr. Nicole Lewis

Dr. Erica Miller

Dr. Jennifer Norton

Kelly Simonetti

Atlantic Coast
Shellfish Council

John J. Maxwell, Chair

Walter L. Johnson, III, Vice Chair

Walter Hughes

Delaware Bay
Shellfish Council

Warren Hollinger, Chair

Stephen J. Fleetwood, Vice Chair

Richard Malinowski

Marine Fisheries Council

Richard N. Herb, Acting Chair

James Alexis

Erling Berg

Dr. Eleanor Ann Bochenek

Warren Hollinger

John J. Maxwell

Frances Puskas

Sergio Radossi

Joe Rizzo

Robert R. Rush, Jr.

Joseph A. Zaborowski

Where to Write Us

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, Division of Fish and Wildlife
MC 501-03 • P.O. Box 420 • Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 • NJFishandWildlife.com

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife

Our Mission

To protect and manage the state’s fish and wildlife to maximize their long-term ­biological, recreational and economic value for all New Jerseyans.

Our Goals

• To maintain New Jersey’s rich variety of fish and wildlife species at stable, healthy levels and to protect and enhance the many habitats on which they depend.

• To educate New Jerseyans on the values and needs of our fish and wildlife and to foster a positive human/wildlife co-existence.

• To maximize the recreational and commercial use of New Jersey’s fish and wildlife for both present and future generations.