Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
Join the Griffin's Guide HUNTING newsletter

Get weekly news, tips and photos from the world of hunting.
[contact-form-7 id="35884" title="GG Email"]
No Thanks!
The 2014 New Jersey Freshwater Fishing Guide is now available!
To view the new guide, please download the pdf. Check back in the coming days as we work to put up the new 2014 website.

Below is content from the 2013 guide.

Recreational Licenses

Brought to you by:

NH Recreational Saltwater License

In 2009, legislation was passed implementing a Recreational Saltwater License in New Hampshire, in addition to Charter Boat and Party Boat licenses. Passage of this law exempted licensed NH saltwater anglers from NOAA’s National Saltwater Angler Registry (countmyfish.noaa.gov) and took effect in 2011.

Cost

  • $11* (NH resident and nonresident)

Recreational fishing licenses are available for purchase online or through any of 250+ NH license agents statewide.

Who Needs the License?

All persons ages 16 and older participating in recreational saltwater fishing who wish to take, possess, or transport finfish from coastal and estuarine waters of New Hampshire. This includes anglers, spearfishers, and persons using other gear types to take marine finfish for personal use and which are not sold.

There is no exemption for persons over age 68 from the recreational saltwater license. This is because we need to collect the name, address, and phone number of all those fishing in saltwater each year in order to obtain an exemption for NH license holders from the National Saltwater Angler Registry and the associated fee.

Exemptions

You do not need the recreational fishing
license to fish from a licensed charter or party boat.

Persons who purchased a Lifetime fishing or combination license prior to 2011 may obtain a Limited Annual Saltwater License for Lifetime Licensees to fish for saltwater smelt, American shad, trout and salmon in coastal and estuarine waters. This permit must be applied for each year by mail or at Fish and Game in Concord and is good only for the fish listed above. If you wish to fish for other fish species such as striped bass, flounder, cod, etc. you must purchase a NH Recreational Saltwater License.

Reciprocity

Resident anglers possessing a valid NH Recreational Saltwater License can legally fish in all tidal and estuarine areas of Massachusetts and in Maine. Reciprocity will be granted in NH for those nonresident anglers possessing a valid Maine or Mass. saltwater license.

Charter and Party Boat License

Cost

  • Charter boat: $51*
  • Party boat: $101*

Who Needs the License?

A charter or party boat license is required for party boats, charter boats, dive boats, head boats, and other boats hired by persons to engage in recreational saltwater fishing opportunities which includes the taking of any marine finfish, by any means for personal use only and which are not sold.

Charter boat is a vessel less than 100 gross tons that meets the requirements of the US Coast Guard to carry 6 or fewer passengers for hire.

Party boat or head boat is a vessel that holds a valid Certificate of Inspection issued by the US Coast Guard to carry passengers for hire.

Passengers hiring a licensed party or charter boat do not need to have a Recreational Saltwater Fishing license while fishing from the vessel.

*Includes $1 agent fee

Reciprocity

New Hampshire law provides reciprocity for Maine and Massachusetts licensed charter and party boats but only if those states provide reciprocity for NH licensed vessels. At this time, only Massachusetts provides reciprocity for NH licensed charter and party boat vessels; licensed NH vessels may operate and fish in Mass. state waters, but may not pick up or drop off passengers or land fish in Mass.

Charter & Party Boat Operators: Please Note

Operators of vessels with a NH party or charter boat license operating in coastal and estuarine waters of the state are exempt from the need to obtain a NH Guide license if:

  • They possess a US Coast Guard-issued Master License or “6-pack” license, and
  • They or a crew member on board the vessel has current certification (with practical exam) in basic first aid and CPR.

 

 

Regulations in red are new this year.

Purple text indicates an important note.

Return to the eregulations.com home page
Brought to you by:
Conservation Partner Advertisements: The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department allows appropriate advertising in its annual regulation guides in print and online, in order to defray or eliminate expenses to the state, and support enhanced communications with New Hampshire Fish and Game Department Constituents. Through a unique partnership with J.F.Griffin Publishing, LLC & eRegulations.com, ‘Conservation Partners’ have been established that pay for advertising in support of the regulations both in print and online. The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department neither endorses products or services listed or claims made; nor accepts any liability arising from the use of products or services listed. Advertisers interested in the Conservation Partners program should contact J.F.Griffin/eRegulations.com directly at 413-884-1001,
JF Griffin Media
J.F. Griffin Media reaches 9,000,000 sportsmen every year through our print and digital publications. We produce 30 hunting and fishing regulation guides for 15 state agencies. For advertising information, please visit: www.jfgriffin.com