License & Tag Requirements
Any person 12 years of age or older, who hunts game birds or game mammals in Nevada is required to have a hunting license or combination hunting and fishing license.
(Refer to NRS 502.010)
Qualifications for Resident Licenses, Tags and Permits
A person is considered to be a resident of the State of Nevada, if he is a citizen of, or is lawfully entitled to remain in, the United States, and during the six months next preceding his application to the Department for a license, tag or permit, he maintained his principal and permanent residence in this State; was physically present in this State, except for temporary absences; and did not purchase or apply for any resident license, tag or permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province. A person who does not maintain his principal and permanent residence in Nevada but is attending an institution of higher learning in this State as a full-time student is eligible for a resident license tag or permit if, during the six months next preceding his application to the Department for a license, tag or permit, he: was physically present in Nevada, except for temporary trips outside of the State, and did not purchase or apply for any resident license, tag or permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province. A resident license, tag or permit issued by the State is void if the person to whom it was issued establishes or maintains his principal and permanent residence in and obtains any hunting, fishing or trapping privilege or entitlement conditional on residency from another state, country or province. Principal and permanent residence means a place where a person is legally domiciled and maintains a permanent habitation in which he lives and to which he intends to return when he leaves the state in which the permanent habitation is located. The term does not include merely owning a residence in the state.
(Refer to NRS 502.015)
Social Security Number
Laws regarding child support mandate that any person who is required by federal law to have a social security number must provide the number to obtain a business, occupational or recreational license. Federal Law – 42 U.S. Code § 666; Nevada Statute – NRS 502.063, 503.5833, 504.390.
Possession and Display of License
Every person required to have a license while hunting, trapping or fishing shall have that license in his possession and available for inspection upon demand of any officer authorized to enforce the fish and game laws of the state of Nevada.
(Refer to NRS 502.120)
Refund of Hunting Fee
- An applicant who fails to obtain a tag may obtain a refund of the fee for his hunting license if the license is not a combined hunting and fishing license and he: (a) Purchased the license solely to apply for a tag; (b) Does no hunting under the authority of the license; and (c) Submits the license to the Department on or before the last weekday of August of the year in which the license was valid. The Department shall accept the license only if it is received on or before that date.
- If an applicant obtains a refund pursuant to the provisions of subsection 1, the applicant will not be awarded any bonus points as provided in NAC 502.4187.
(Refer to NAC 502.4225)
Youths and Possession of License
Children under age 12 may not legally hunt big game in Nevada. Youths 14 years and older who possess a valid license and have received parental permission may hunt unaccompanied. (See NRS 202.300.) If a youth under age 18 is applying for a license to hunt, the youth’s parent or legal guardian must sign the application and an attached statement acknowledging that the parent or legal guardian has been advised of the provisions of NRS 41.472.
(Refer to NRS 502.060)