Mississippi Saltwater Fishing
- It is a misdemeanor to violate the Seafood Laws and the rules and regulations of the Commission on Marine Resources.
- Any person, firm or corporation convicted of violating any regulation adopted by the MCMR shall be fined no less than $100 and no more than $500 for the first offense, unless the first offense is committed during a closed season, in which case the fine shall be no less than $500 and no more than $1,000.
- For a second offense within a period of three years, the fine will be no less than $500 and no more than $1,000.
- For any third or subsequent offense within a period of three years, penalties shall include no less than $2,000 and no more than $4,000, or imprisonment in the county jail for a period not exceeding 30 days. Upon conviction of a third or subsequent offense, the court shall revoke the right of the person or boat in violation from taking any seafood from state waters for one year.
- In addition to any other penalties, the MCMR may suspend the license of any person convicted of a violation and any vessel used in the violation for a period not to exceed five days for the first offense, and a period not to exceed 30 days for the second offense.
- Upon conviction of five seafood violations within a period of five years, the Mississippi Commission on Marine Resources may revoke the license of the convicted party and the vessel used in the offenses and may prohibit indefinitely the issuance of a license to that person or vessel.
- The MCMR also is authorized to impose administrative penalties of not more than $10,000 for each violation of the rules and regulations of the Commission.