Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
Join the Griffin's Guide HUNTING newsletter

Get weekly news, tips and photos from the world of hunting.
[contact-form-7 id="35884" title="GG Email"]
No Thanks!

Accident Information

Brought to you by:

Accidents involving personal injury or death

1. Law enforcement officer notification. The operator of a recreational vehicle in an accident that results in personal injury or death of a person shall immediately report the accident, by the quickest means of communication, to the available law enforcement officer nearest to the place where the accident occurred.

A. The owner of a recreational vehicle who knows that the machine was involved in an accident as described in this subsection shall report the accident as provided in this subsection if the operator of the recreational vehicle is unknown.

2. Provide information to injured party. The operator or a person acting on behalf of the operator of a recreational vehicle involved in an accident shall provide to an injured person or the operator or an occupant of any other recreational vehicle involved in the accident

A. The operator’s name and address; and

B. The registration number of the operator’s recreational vehicle.

3. Render assistance. The operator of a recreational vehicle involved in an accident shall render reasonable assistance to an injured person.

4. Penalties. A person who violates this section commits a Class E crime.

5. Aggravated punishment category. Notwithstanding subsection 4, a person who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly fails to comply with this section when the accident resulted in serious bodily injury, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 23, or death, commits a Class C crime.

Accident reports

1. Report requirements. A person shall give notice of a recreational vehicle accident within 72 hours to the commissioner on forms provided by the commissioner if the person is:

A. The operator of a recreational vehicle involved in an accident that does not result in injuries requiring the services of a physician or in the death of a person but involves property damage estimated to cost $1,000 or more;

B. A person acting for the operator of a recreational vehicle described in paragraph A; or

C. The owner of a recreational vehicle described in paragraph A having knowledge of the accident, if the operator of the recreational vehicle is unknown.

Regulations in red are new this year.

Purple text indicates an important note.

Return to the eregulations.com home page
Brought to you by:
Conservation Partner Advertisements: The Maine Department of Fisheries and Inland Fisheries allows appropriate advertising in its annual regulation guides in print and online, in order to defray or eliminate expenses to the state, and support enhanced communications with Maine Department of Fisheries and Inland Fisheries Constituents. Through a unique partnership with J.F.Griffin Publishing, LLC & eRegulations.com, ‘Conservation Partners’ have been established that pay for advertising in support of the regulations both in print and online. The Maine Department of Fisheries and Inland Fisheries neither endorses products or services listed or claims made; nor accepts any liability arising from the use of products or services listed. Advertisers interested in the Conservation Partners program should contact J.F.Griffin/eRegulations.com directly at 413-884-1001,
JF Griffin Media
J.F. Griffin Media reaches 9,000,000 sportsmen every year through our print and digital publications. We produce 30 hunting and fishing regulation guides for 15 state agencies. For advertising information, please visit: www.jfgriffin.com