Any driver convicted of speeding 75 mph on any two-lane road, or 85 mph and over anywhere in Georgia, will be assessed a $200 state fee. The state fee will be in addition to any local fines imposed in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurs. Failure to pay the state fee on time will result in a license suspension and additional $50 reinstatement fee.
Maximum traveling speeds are determined based on the following general rules in Georgia unless otherwise posted:
These are only general rules. Local jurisdictions, the Georgia Department of Transportation, or the Georgia Department of Public Safety may deem it necessary to adjust speed limits based on local conditions, whether temporary or permanent.
Always watch for speed limit signs while driving. Some areas, such as school zones or construction zones, may be posted for lower maximum speed limits at certain times of the day or for a short period of time. It is important to pay close attention to road signs while driving to ensure that when you approach a speed zone, whether temporary or permanent, you will have sufficient time to adjust your speed accordingly.
When there are two or more lanes for traffic moving in the same direction, slower vehicles should use the right lane except when passing or making a left turn. Driving too slowly on certain highways can be dangerous because it impedes the regular flow of traffic. On certain highways, minimum speed limits are posted. If you are unable to drive at the minimum speed, you should seek an alternate route.
Pursuant to House Bill 459, slower drivers must move out of the passing lane (most left-hand lane) and over to the right to allow faster-moving traffic to proceed. The only exceptions are:
Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.