Join the Griffin's Guide HUNTING newsletter
Get weekly news, tips and photos from the world of hunting.
[contact-form-7 id="35884" title="GG Email"]
The 2014 New Jersey Freshwater Fishing Guide is now available!
To view the new guide, please download the pdf
. Check back in the coming days as we work to put up the new 2014 website.
Below is content from the 2013 guide.
- All boats that carry any means of mechanical propulsion (electric trolling motor and/or gas motor) and all sailboats 12 feet and longer must be registered.
- A Boat Registration Application can be downloaded from www.goboatgeorgia.com
- You may also renew your boat registration online at www.goboatgeorgia.com
- Renew registration by phone at 800-366-2661.
- Georgia honors all other states’ registrations, provided the boat is not used in excess of 60 consecutive days in Georgia.
Personal Flotation Devices
- A wearable personal flotation device (PFD) is required for each person aboard a vessel. PFDs must be readily accessible to all occupants, in good and serviceable condition, legibly marked with the US Coast Guard approved number, and of appropriate size for the occupants. One Type IV throwable device must also be on board all vessels except Class A vessels (boats less than 15′ 11″ which also includes personal-watercraft, canoes and kayaks).
- Children under age 10 must wear a PFD when the vessel is under way, unless the child is within a fully enclosed cabin.
- PFDs must be worn by each person aboard a vessel in an area marked as “hazardous area.”
Outboard Motor Restrictions
- No motor in excess of 9.9 hp may be operated on the Ogeechee River upstream of State Hwy 119.
- No motor in excess of 25 hp may be operated on Lake Juliette or Lake Tugalo.
- Georgia State Park lakes often have boat and motor restrictions. Check with the Park Office at each park for details.
- No vessel may be operated over idle speed within 100 feet of any moored or anchored vessel, vessel adrift, or any wharf, pier, piling, or persons in the water, or shoreline next to a full-time or part-time residence, public park, public beach, public swimming area, marina, restaurant, or other public use area.
- Recreation boaters in coastal waters please note: Tybee, Sea Island, St. Simons, and Jekyll Islands have temporal (May 1 – Sept. 30) 1,000 ft. safety zones.
- Booze and boats do not mix! It is unlawful to operate a boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- To learn requirements for operating your boat, obtain the Handbook of Georgia Boating Laws from any WRD Law Enforcement Office.
- To learn about a boating safety course contact the Boating Education Coordinator at 770-761-3010 or any WRD Law Enforcement Office (see Contact Information & Offices).
See www.goboatgeorgia.com for complete boating regulations.
Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.
Conservation Partner Advertisements: The Georgia Department of Natural Resources allows appropriate advertising in its annual regulation guides in print and online, in order to defray or eliminate expenses to the state, and support enhanced communications with Georgia Department of Natural Resources Constituents. Through a unique partnership with J.F.Griffin Publishing, LLC & eRegulations.com, ‘Conservation Partners’ have been established that pay for advertising in support of the regulations both in print and online. The Georgia Department of Natural Resources neither endorses products or services listed or claims made; nor accepts any liability arising from the use of products or services listed. Advertisers interested in the Conservation Partners program should contact J.F.Griffin/eRegulations.com directly at 413-884-1001,
J.F. Griffin Media reaches 9,000,000 sportsmen every year through our print and digital publications. We produce 30 hunting and fishing regulation guides for 15 state agencies. For advertising information, please visit: www.jfgriffin.com