Saltwater Angler Recognition

Saltwater Marine Fishing Regulations Florida Saltwater Fishing

Catch a Florida Memory –

Saltwater Angler Recognition

Catch a Florida Memory when you participate in one of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) Saltwater Angler Recognition Programs. These programs entice anglers to get involved and learn more about Florida’s diverse marine resources while adding to an exciting day out on the water.

Saltwater Angler Recognition Programs reward anglers for their fishing efforts, cultivate saltwater fishing interest in new anglers, enhance the experience for seasoned veterans already hooked on fishing, and support marine resource conservation. They also encourage anglers to target more than one species during fishing trips, thereby decreasing fishing pressure on any given species. Learn more and submit catches at CatchaFloridaMemory.com.

Saltwater Grand Slams

An FWC Grand Slam is catching three specified fish species in a 24-hour period. Grand Slams increase the diversity of fish species targeted on fishing trips and recognize anglers for their achievements. Successful anglers will not only be awarded a certificate, letter and t-shirt, but will also receive recognition for every three or more different Grand Slams submitted and will win a Grand Prize if all eligible slams are caught.

9 Grand Slam Categories:

  • Inshore Grand Slam – red drum, spotted seatrout, flounder
  • Florida Grand Slam – permit, tarpon, bonefish
  • Family Grand Slam – any three fish in the same scientific family (i.e. three snapper species)
  • Shoreline Grand Slam – sheepshead, kingfish (whiting), Florida pompano
  • Bay & Estuary Grand Slam – mangrove (gray) snapper, snook, Spanish mackerel
  • Nearshore Grand Slam – cobia, tripletail, king mackerel
  • Reefs & Rubble Grand Slam – black sea bass, gag, gray triggerfish
  • Blue Water Grand Slam – dolphinfish, sailfish, wahoo
  • Small Fry Grand Slam – pinfish, catfish, grunt (only for ages 15 and under)

Recognition Tiers:

  • 3 different Grand Slams
  • 6 different Grand Slams
  • All eligible Grand Slams – Grand Slam Master Angler

Saltwater Fish Life List

Similar to a birding life list, the new Saltwater Fish Life List allows anglers to track their progress at catching 71 particular species of saltwater fish. Anglers will be recognized for their achievements as they reach four levels based upon the number of different fish caught.

Recognition Tiers:

  • 10 Fish Club
  • 30 Fish Club
  • 50 Fish Club
  • 71 Fish Club – Life List Master Angler

Saltwater Reel Big Fish

This size-based program rewards anglers who catch a memorable-sized saltwater fish in 30 different species categories. To qualify, fish must be legally caught and meet or exceed a minimum qualifying length. A photo of the fish on a measuring device must be submitted, in addition to a photo of the angler with the fish. Successful anglers will not only receive a certificate, letter and t-shirt, but will also receive recognition for reaching four levels based upon the total number of different species entered into the program.

Recognition Tiers:

  • 5 different species
  • 10 different species
  • 15 different species
  • All 30 different species – Reel Big Master Angler

Florida Saltwater Fishing Records

State all-tackle records for the heaviest fishes caught in Florida waters are maintained for 76 marine species in both conventional tackle and fly fishing categories. Successful anglers will receive a certificate for their achievement, not to mention bragging rights. Catches must be made according to FWC and IGFA angling rules.

Monthly Raffle Drawings

Successful Catch a Florida Memory participants are automatically entered into monthly raffle drawings held by the Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida for each verified program submission made. Winners are randomly selected and prizes include landing nets courtesy of McLean Angling, rods and reels courtesy of the Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida, fillet knives courtesy of Smith’s Consumer Products, fishing gear courtesy of Live to Fish, and fish art courtesy of Fish Print Shop.

Program Requirements

  • All submitted fish must have been caught by the angler applying for recognition.
  • Anglers must follow Florida saltwater recreational fishing regulations.
  • Fish do not have to be harvested and we encourage catch-and-release fishing.
  • Anglers must submit photographs of themselves with each fish.
  • Use proper fish handling techniques to minimize stress on fish. Learn more at MyFWC.com/Fishing by clicking on “Saltwater,” “Recreational” and “Fish Handling.”


Contributions from our generous partners help provide recognition and prizes for program participants. We gratefully acknowledge our partners: McLean Angling, Smith’s Consumer Products, Live to Fish, Tony Ivory Art and Apparel, Warbird Fishing Gear, Ocean Waves Sunglasses, Fish Print Shop, Martin County, the Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida, and the International Game Fish Association. To become a partner, visit CatchaFloridaMemory.com/Partners or contact AnglerRecognition@MyFWC.com.

Connect with Us

For more information on FWC’s Saltwater Angler Recognition Programs and to submit catches, visit CatchaFloridaMemory.com. Like and follow us on Facebook.com/CatchaFLMemory to view angler photos and get updates on the latest submissions. View fishing how-to videos and more on our FWC Saltwater Fishing YouTube channel @MyFWC.com/Saltwaterfishing.

Saltwater Reel Big Fish Club Recipients

Red Drum

Nicholas Odle

Gary Gunter

Patrick Marsh

Landon Hall

John “Whit” Whitaker

Eric Anderson

Eric Anderson

Lucas Williams

Karen Shane

Austin Corn

Spotted Seatrout

Richard Watkins

Stephen Stubbs

Charles Stubbs

Joel Abo

Roy Magnuson


John H. Dobbins

Dale Ash

Kevin Burkhead Jr.

Joshua D Irwin

Ethan Sonnenberg

Daniel Gibbs

Patrick Marsh

John Wilmoth

Spanish Mackerel

Ethan Sonnenberg

Red Porgy

Katlyn M. Paul


Nicholas Odle

Landon Hall

Gray Triggerfish

Katlyn M. Paul

Mutton Snapper

Kevin Yulkowski

Roger A. Grimes

Tricia Grimes

Saltwater Grand Slam Club Recipients

Inshore Grand Slam:

Claire Lewis

Danny Smith

Anthony Watson

Coty Eager

Stephen Trainor

Stephen Trainor

Stephen Trainor

Coty Eager

Jonathan Allaire

John Mobley

Dara Blalock


Melanie Flower

William Gerspacher

Ron Little

Scott Stillman

Bear Williamson

Eric J Gerlak

Jenelle Lemieux

Cassaundra Thompson

Scott Harvey

Matthew Fekkers

Nathan Gibson

Justin Bowden

Crystal Selover

Family Grand Slam:

Eric J Gerlak

William S. Davidson Jr

Thomas Milliren

Justin Blalock

Snapper John

Bob Horne

Gavin Hart

Drew Serraes

Florida Grand Slam:

Chris Ringlstetter

R. A. Mike Maxwell

Christopher Rowell

Small Fry Grand Slam:

Kiley Crouch

Garrett Crouch

Drew Serraes

Saltwater Fish Life List Club Recipients

10 Fish Club

Katlyn M. Paul

Lewis Horn

Brooke West

Christopher K. Perry

Dawn M. Forlizzo

Fischer Hunston

Matthew Batchelor

Capt. Ken Lai

Devin S. Paul

Mike Nolan

Mason Zimmer

Katerina P. Gerlak

Rocky Santa Cruz

Patrick Marsh

Mary Muratori

Janene Evans

Robert Register

Tanya Register

Robert Tucker

Laura Willix

Jeremy M. Summers

Michael Yannick

Cameron Solomon

Michael Kolinski

Eric Anderson

Kevin Council

BJ Bueschel

Drew Serraes

James Whitaker

Brian Fimbel

30 Fish Club

Michael (Soloyaker) Taylor

Mary Muratori

Florida Saltwater Fishing Records Recipients

Dawn M. Delisle – Vermilion Snapper

Thomas Milliren – Almaco Jack

Sharon Kartrude Pryel – Horse-eye Jack

Raymond A. Hathorn Jr. – Gulf Kingfish (whiting)