Logo

Graduated Driver License Law

Drivers Icon Teaching Your Teen to Drive

 

Level One Learner’s Permit: First 6 Months of Valid Driving Authority

Eligibility

  • Must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Must complete approved Driver Education Training Course.
  • Must pass all written and road tests by a driver education teacher (DMV examines all minors with disabilities).
  • Sponsor must sign application.

Components

  • Permit must be in possession of the permit holder.
  • Supervised driving at all times by a licensed parent, guardian, or licensed driver who is at least 25 years old, has held a Class D Driver License for at least 5 years, and is approved by the sponsor.
  • Supervising driver must be seated beside the permit holder in the front seat of the vehicle when it is in motion; only the supervisor can be in the front seat.
  • Only 1 additional passenger besides the supervisor, or immediate family members, is permitted in the vehicle.
  • The use of any cellular telephone, text messenger, or substantially similar electronic device is strictly prohibited while operating a motor vehicle.
  • Sponsor shall certify that the permit holder has driven for 50 hours; 10 of which is to be nighttime driving. The certification is to be turned into the Department of Education after the first six months of valid driving authority and before any unsupervised driving is permitted.
  • Permit holder and all passengers, under the age of 18, must wear a safety belt or be secured in a child safety seat or booster seat while the vehicle is in motion and the permit holder is driving.

Level One Learner’s Permit: Second 6 Months of Valid Driving Authority

Eligibility

  • Starts after 6 months of valid Delaware Level One Learner’s Permit driving authority.

Components

  • Permit must be in the possession of the permit holder.
  • Unsupervised driving allowed between 6 AM and 10 PM; only 1 passenger allowed (immediate family members are allowed in addition to the 1 passenger as long as a supervisor is present).
  • Supervised driving from 10 PM to 6 AM; exemption allows the permit holder to travel to and from church activities, work activities, and school activities on the permit holder’s school grounds.
  • Supervising driver must be a licensed parent, guardian, or licensed driver who is at least 25 years old, has held a Class D driver license for at least 5 years, and is approved by the sponsor.
  • Supervising driver must be seated beside the permit holder in the front seat of the vehicle when it is in motion; only the supervisor can be in the front seat.
  • The use of any cellular telephone, text messenger, or substantially similar electronic device is strictly prohibited while operating a motor vehicle.
  • Permit holder and all passengers, under the age of 18, must wear a safety belt or be secured in a child safety seat or booster seat while the vehicle is in motion and the permit holder it driving.

Class D Driver License: Unrestricted

Eligibility

  • Must be at least 17 years of age.
  • Credited with 12 months of Delaware Level One Learner’s Permit experience.
  • The Class D driver license becomes valid on the effective date printed on the license unless the permit holder’s driving privilege has been suspended, revoked, cancelled, denied, or surrendered, in which case the date will be adjusted accordingly.

Components

  • Class D Driver License must be in possession of the driver license holder at all times when driving.
  • May drive unsupervised at any time.

Parent Orientation Program

The Graduated Driver License (GDL) Parent Orientation Program (POP) is now available online for all parents and sponsors of new teen drivers in Delaware. This program is intended for parents and sponsors and explains why the GDL law was implemented in Delaware, gives them teaching and educational resources to help educate and teach their new drivers how to drive safely, and what responsibilities and liabilities the parent/sponsor assumes with a newly licensed driver. Visit http://www.ohs.delaware.gov/OHSGDL/story.html